We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vista Grill

Vista Grill
Ranked #13 of 981 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Perched upon a hill overlooking the entire city of Puerto Vallarta, Vista Grill is a culinary experience with a view to match. Offering Modern Mexican Cuisine with superb attention to detail, the Vista Grill kitchen is always using the freshest locally available ingredients. Perfect for large groups and celebrations, or romantic dinners overlooking the bay, Vista Grill is a must for your trip to Puerto Vallarta.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
257 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Our concierge recommended this restaurant to us. He gave us directions, and told us what to expect. It was about 15 minutes from our hotel, but worth the drive. The views are spectacular, and even better come sundown. It was not very crowded at all,which was somewhat surprising. The service was great, and you had a large choice of seafood to choose from, along with other entrees It is a great place for a special occasion, since it is not inexpensive, But work the trip.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank retireddl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,828
    322
    122
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delran, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us by the concierge at our resort. He said it was very romantic, so we took his word for it. When we arrived, our breath was taken away by the views. No words can describe how exhilirating it was. The food as well was superb! Our servers Martin and Christian assisted in making this dining experience first class. This was truly a dining experinece we will never ever forget.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“👏👍😀😊👌”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

We were pleased with how "not busy" they were. Really liked the house margarita. The shrimp taquitos were ah-mazing! Cream of corn soup was velvety and rich and very pleasing to my palate. My steak was cooked to perfection. It made me moan a little with each bite. It was the best steak I've had in years. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️!!!! Loved the view as well. Service was really really good. The live jazz sax player was the frosting on the cake.
Did not care for the creme brûlée.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heidi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton Manors, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice way to start a vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

When we arrived in Puerto Vallarta we checked online at Tripadvisor to see what people were suggesting for a restaurant and spotted the Vista Grill. It was away from the downtown area and on one of the mountainsides with an outstanding view of the bay and sunset.

The food was very good and staff was too. Their menu was a very good variety and well presented.

This was a great start for the vacation and I would recommend you put this on your schedule. It's a taxi ride to get to but worth the small amount you pay for the view and food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Great service. But the view is the star of the show.

Prior to this visit, it had been 7 years since we were here last. It's good to know that some things haven't changed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SenorFeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vista Grill also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Vista Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing