We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice, great appetizers”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vista Grill

Vista Grill
Ranked #13 of 999 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Perched upon a hill overlooking the entire city of Puerto Vallarta, Vista Grill is a culinary experience with a view to match. Offering Modern Mexican Cuisine with superb attention to detail, the Vista Grill kitchen is always using the freshest locally available ingredients. Perfect for large groups and celebrations, or romantic dinners overlooking the bay, Vista Grill is a must for your trip to Puerto Vallarta.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“very nice, great appetizers”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

this is the #2 ranked PV restaurant on tripadvisor for good reason. the setting is beautiful, the staff is very attentive and accommodating, and the food and drinks are good too.
best wine list we found in PV.
The appetizers were really really good. we got risotto, tacitos, scallops and a few more. all were excellent. So excellent that they actually made the entree's seem kind of ho-hum. i got the mahi on mango rice. the mahi was fine the rice was awesome.
one person in our party got the seafood platter entree, and wasn't happy with it at all...it was the most expensive thing on the menu and the waiter recommended it (what a surprise).
we got a couple mexican coffees. the flaming preparation is really cool.
if you can, make a reservation ahead of time and ask for a table near the railing, you won't be sorry. also try to get there an hour or so before sunset to enjoy the view

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,862
    330
    126
    32
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sunset dinner”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

I highly recommend scheduling your reservation for about a half hour before sunset. The views are spectacular and the candlelit atmosphere once the sun goes down is wonderful. The food was incredible. The portions are on the smaller side but are beautifully presented, and the appetizers and salads are equally yummy. Be sure to get a flaming coffee after dessert! It's a fun nightcap. We'll definitely be going back to Vista Grill in the future.

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth2754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Spectacular Restaurant with an Amazing View!!”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I have used Trip Advisor a lot when searching out restaurants in PV and I have been going there since 1999 and have never been to Vista Grill before. There are times when you have such high expectations for a restaurant and they fall short.
This is not one of those times our expectations were high but this restaurant far exceeded them by a longshot. First of all sit by the rail when you walk into this place and see the incredible view it takes your breath away it is truly spectacular.
The service is awesome but not over the top and they certainly don't try to rush you out if you don't ask for the check they aren't going to bring it so enjoy the view!!
Now the food is sensational my wife and I had two appetizers the Tuna/Salmon tartar and the scallop and octopus ceviche the presentation was awesome but the food was even better certainly not expensive for what you get. For Dinner my wife had the red snapper with the lobster ravioli was to die for I would probably get that everytime, I had the beef tenderloin cooked perfectly it was wrapped in hoja santa what ever that is but flavorful and delicious.
Then Mexican coffees wait until sunset otherwise your wasting your money quite the show at your table and well worth it. We will now make Vista Grill on our list for the week maybe twice if you have not been here before you are truly missing out I sure did now they have a customer for life!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mrob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“Beautiful view, fantastic food and service”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

The view overlooking the ocean is hard to beat, but the food is even better! Cesar, our server, was beyond hospitable and catered to our every want and need. The Mexican coffees were a perfect ending to an amazing experience and meal!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JustineAntoine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Still A Favourite”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Saturday night in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and looking for a nice dinner spot...the obvious choice for us, Vista Grill. A little earlier in the year this time so reservations were for 7:30 to catch a stunning sunset. Had new friends with us and as usual, introducing them to VG was a hit. Cesar took incredible care of us again, tending to our every want and need and making excellent recommendations when it came time to order.

I had the cream of fennel soup with mussels and pumpkin seeds (yum) and followed up with the chicken roulade. Served with a wild rice pilaff and fresh, seasonal vegetables. It was Diaz de las Madre (Mother's Day) so ScubaLisa (see her on TA for info on her dive trips) picked the seafood cream for a starter and lamb for her main. I had to try her soup and was a little envious because it was even better than mine!

The boys had steaks, cooked to perfection, and we all finished with flaming coffees for dessert.

I know I've raved on here before about this restaurant but it just never lets me down, the food, service, view and company is always outstanding. Thank you Vista Grill for keeping your high standards and always providing a terrific evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vista Grill also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Vista Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing