We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A restaurant with a view plus terrific food!”
Review of Vista Grill

Vista Grill
Ranked #13 of 1,020 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Perched upon a hill overlooking the entire city of Puerto Vallarta, Vista Grill is a culinary experience with a view to match. Offering Modern Mexican Cuisine with superb attention to detail, the Vista Grill kitchen is always using the freshest locally available ingredients. Perfect for large groups and celebrations, or romantic dinners overlooking the bay, Vista Grill is a must for your trip to Puerto Vallarta.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A restaurant with a view plus terrific food!”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Fabulous restaurant in old Puerto Vallarta, offering a terrific view of the city and the bay. The trip there over the cobblestone streets will shake your bones but it will be well worth it! We suggest you make a reservation and request a table along the railing to enjoy the beautiful sunset. The food is spectacular and they offer appetizer size main entrees so you can enjoy both an appetizer and a smaller version of the entree, and still have room for dessert! The service was as good as the food. This would definitely be a restaurant worth coming back to.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Golf_nutsWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,882
    338
    128
    32
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Never Disappoints...and the View Is Fabulous!”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The Vista Grill never disappoints. This is our 4th year in PV, and we go there twice on each trip. This year's new favorite is the shrimp taquitos - very very good with delicate flavors; I could eat these as an entre! The pork tenderloin and the seafood are always good - prepared perfectly. And the wine selection is excellent. We love pinot noirs, and Vista Grill has a lovely selection - try the Cono Sur pinot noir. The flaming coffees are an experience in and of themselves - fun to watch and delightful to drink. And then, of course, there is the view, which is simply perfect. I can't end without saying something about the service, which is always superior. Our compliments to the Vista Grill for so consistently meeting and even exceeding expectations.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahtomedi, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Glorious view and great food.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have just returned from a trip to Puerto Vallarta. We shared a meal with friends at the Vista Grill to introduce them to the city. Our food, service and experience were all outstanding. Our server was so gracious in taking very good photos of our group. I would urge all to put this on your must do list when visiting this wonderful part of the world.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MOTHEROFBRIDE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
103 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Outstanding View, Nice Music, Attentive Service and Fine Food”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is a very pretty restaurant nestled in the hills offering a wide panorama of the the city. Try for a reservation to arrive before sunset and ask for a table near the railings for a wonderful view of Puerto Vallarta and Banderas Bay. We truly enjoyed this restaurant, which has a warm yet sophisticated vibe. Our waiter was extremely professional, warm and knowledgeable, and our dinners were outstanding. On the night we dined there, a solo musician played light jazz in the background. In terms of the total experience, Vista Grill has it all. Consider one of the flaming coffee drinks to complete your evening. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hagar33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Sk.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“The best view, awesome service and incredible food!!!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I took my wife to Vista Grill for our Anniversary. My criteria for selecting this restaurant was based on an upscale dining experience, a view, and good reviews. I wholeheartedly recommend Vista Grill for a special occasion, their staff are attentive without being overbearing, and the prices are more than reasonable for the quality of food. The view is unparalleled, and really gives you a different perspective of PV. I really enjoyed the lime margaritas, and my wife was pleasantly surprised by the hibiscus and pomegranate martini. The mussels appy was huge, and the accompanying freshly baked bread was nice. My wife had the seafood combination and it was very tasty! My steak was among the best I've ever had. We like to try different restaurants on each trip, but Vista Grill will be a stop on our future trips. It's just that good!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pinnacle8850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vista Grill also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Vista Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing