We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time in PV and Cora”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Vallarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vallarta Cora Hotel
Palm Springs, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful time in PV and Cora”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I just got home from PV yesterday..had a great stay..Loved the Cora..Mario runs a great place and is a fun guy..The Staff is fun and not hard on the eyes..everyone I met their was fun and friendly.some more than others thanks goodness...Wink, Wink, If your a pissy queen.. expecting the Ritz,,this isnt the place for you..but if you want a fun,clean, beach close place check it out.. Ill be back.....Ken Hopkins

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank palmspringsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    24
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
19
37
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This could be a fun place if the staff were not rude and intent on separating you from your money every chance they get. The guy at the gate is nice and friendly but the bartender on the day I was there was very rude. I rented a lock for the locker "200 pesos" was the response but he failed to tell me that 150 is for a deposit. When I returned the lock and key, he stood there and we looked at each other for a moment, then he put 150 down on the counter with one hand and slammed the tip jar down in front of me with the other. Needless to say a tip was not forthcoming.

The waiters buzz around like hummingbirds on speed, asking you every 30 seconds whether you want another drink. If you set your drink down for a moment, it will be gone and questions about why are met with blank stares.

This could be a fun place if the staff would be more relaxed but the constant bugging to buy more drinks is annoying.

I hear there is a new venue opening up in Puerto Vallarta, across from Paco's. A little competition might be a good thing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ncalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I was at the Vallarta Cora over Halloween week and Dia de los Muertos of 2012.

Rodrigo is a wonderful, knowledgeable, and hospitable host. Every conversation I had with him was genial and friendly.

The bar staff are conversational, engaging, and entertaining. I found the staff and the nightly visitors enough to keep me occupied so much so that I ventured out very little in the evenings.

Five star, no ... but this property is not five star rates. Comfortable, YES! The apartments are spacious and the beds are extremely comfortable.

I'm planning my next trip to Vallarta Cora now.

Room Tip: The balcony doors on the top floor rooms open. Rooms not on the top floor have the a/c unit in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHappyTraveler410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

As a gay male if you are looking for a stuffy, 4 star palace, this is NOT for you.HOWEVER...if you are looking for a full apartment at hotel room price with traditional charm. If you are looking for a casual place with all your basic needs and an energetic staff, this place is for you. If you are looking for a place that is owned by a man that TRULY has your best interest, this place is for you. Lastly, if you want more of a local cultural atmosphere in a tourist environment, this place is for you. The location has a bar/spa/pool that is open to the public from 3 p.m. til midight, of course free for guests. Local hotties stop by after work hours and it is HOT. Mingle in the bar, pool, jacuzzi, steam room. It is smokin' hot!! Don't hesitate, BOOK HERE NOW!

Room Tip: the higher up you stay, the quieter , but lower rooms give a closer look into the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank romero714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Had a very good stay and enjoyed the excellent service.
Due to seperate business of Gay Spa it is a little different scene but always clean and safe during my 4 days of staying here.
Rooms very large with big eating table 4 burner stove, full sizr fridge and two double beds with a balcony.
Pool, jacuzzi, sauna area but also used by day patrons along with bar.
2 blocks from beach
Very nice place to stay will be back eventually

Room Tip: Sleep and rooms not marked higher as I am use to pillow top beds. All in all I think this was excell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vogeljam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I was at the Cora from Sept. 22-30, 2013. Hotel is somewhat dated, but found it to be very clean. Manuel does a great job of keeping the rooms clean and in order. Room had a combination living room/dining room, small kitchen with refrig, stovetop(no oven), blender, coffee maker, toaster, pots and pans and dishes along with silverware. Bedroom had a nice king size bed which was very comfortable for Mexican standards--not hard or lumpy. Rooms also have 1.5 baths. There is also a safe in the rooms to keep valuables. Disc player in rooms with videos.

Nice round pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sundeck on rooftop overlooking courtyard area. Of course, there is also a video room where steamy videos are playing during bar hours. There is also a darkroom for those who might be inclined to enter.

Bar staff was very friendly and accomodating.

As a previous reviewer mentioned, the mixed drinks are pretty weak and not that cheap. it might be best to stick to beer or else buy your own liquor and fix a drink in your room.

Thanks to Nestor, Hector and Javier for making my stay fun and enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IowaBoy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood & UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I have stayed here several times, the rooms are very clean, more like a one bedroom apartment and cleaned everyday by the hard working cleaning Boy, thank you .
The bar , jacuzzi area is very cruisey and fun, the down side of the bar are the drinks! Not very strong , probably watered down and somewhat expensive, 2 margaritas $15, I can pay that in LA!
Also on this visit , staying for 5 nights, 3 of those days the jacuzzi was not working , which was ashame considering many of the guys like to hang out in there !!
But taking all into account will stay there next year .

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tourcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercurio
Hotel Mercurio
#56 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
449 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#27 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Cupula
Casa Cupula
#11 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#62 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
#13 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Terraza Inn
La Terraza Inn
#37 of 89 in Puerto Vallarta
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vallarta Cora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vallarta Cora Hotel

Property: Vallarta Cora Hotel
Address: Pilitas #174 Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing