We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location , clean accommodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Vallarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vallarta Cora Hotel
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My partner and I have stayed here several times, the rooms are very clean, more like a one bedroom apartment and cleaned everyday by the hard working cleaning Boy, thank you .
The bar , jacuzzi area is very cruisey and fun, the down side of the bar are the drinks! Not very strong , probably watered down and somewhat expensive, 2 margaritas $15, I can pay that in LA!
Also on this visit , staying for 5 nights, 3 of those days the jacuzzi was not working , which was ashame considering many of the guys like to hang out in there !!
But taking all into account will stay there next year .

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank tourcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 65 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2012

I read the good and bad reviews of this hotel adn decided to book here. My stay was fantastic. It is true that the place is tired in spots, but it is clean and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. It is a gay men's hotel and it is full of gay men and testosterone and all that that implies. If that bothers you then, of course, stay somewhere else. I would stay there again. There was plenty of hot water, good cleaning service, quiet after midnight and friendly. Special mention to David, Armando, and Victor.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lahamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

wow just got back from a 17 night stay here it was my first visit to pv and the place is great, the rooms are great cleaned everyday with unlimited hot water i never went without once, the place is clean and the bar fanataic, theres lots of fun to be had down stairs and the staff are brill, almondo one of the waiter boys is a fab lad , looks after u all the time and it is a place to meet good new friends as i did, rodrigo on reception even brought in his adapter for me to borrow as id forgot mine and mario the owner is great ive already rebooked my room for next year. If you are going to pv stay here but book early as its very popular and there are only 12 apartments. Dont know where the bad comments come from about this place but take it from me its FANTASTIC . THANKS TO ALL THE STAFF AND SEE YOU IN JANUARY 2013

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abdulfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

This is a combination bar-pool-jacuzzi-hotel. There are 12 rooms available on four floor levels, all overlooking either the cruisy front street or the cruisy back courtyard. This place is for men only, or, as all the sheets and towels and their advertising logo states, "Solo para hombres." And that is great. You will find all the Mexican boys here in the afternoons and evenings playing in the pool, jacuzzi and backroom. The rooms are clean, very basic but very well maintained. There is nothing unsafe about this place whatsoever. The owner is a jovial Canadian guy who cares for his customers. If you don't leave this place satisfied, well, there's something wrong with you!

Room Tip: 203, 303, 403 overlook the jacuzzi - excellent sightseeing is all I will say ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The hotel is small with only a few rooms (12 units) and in need of some TLC but the service is second to none. Mario the owner is very helpful and the staff at the bar is always ready to serve you cold drinks which are reasonable priced! Housekeeping makes sure the rooms are clean with plenty of towels and amenities.

The Jacuzzi in the back is where most of the action happens with guys of all types (locals and guests) having a good time. There are plenty of dark and quiet corners for a more intimate moment with your partner or the new friend you just met in the Jacuzzi. For the more adventurous, there is dark room where everything can happen (I had so many hands and mouths on me the Sunday I was there!!!).

Room rates are attractive for the low season ($55 USD) and there is a gate which prevents gawkers to get to the room areas unless they are invited. In all, I had fun at this place and will recommend it if you don't mind an older property

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sam_Gamgee_IA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Not sure why some people have a problem with this place or with Mario. I stayed 7 days, never saw a single hustler, in fact Mario doesn't tolerate them on the place and suggested that you shouldn't offer a "friend" more than cab fare home, and only if asked.

The rooms are great, never ran out of hot-water, great pressure, and the air-conditioning worked - I've stayed other places where some or all of those things didn't work.

It is an older property, but it was clean and the staff was wonderful. The bar opens promptly at 3pm, and at the stroke of midnight the music ends and it stays quiet through mid-morning at least. I slept great.

Yes, there is a back-room where anything goes, and there it can get pretty steamy in the hot-tub. In the low-season, particularly on the weekends, the place crawls with locals, most of them at least interesting, quite a few tipping the scale towards downright hot. You don't have to venture back to the darker areas - but if you do, keep an open mind towards being groped.

It's a 5 minute slow stroll to the Blue Chairs, and not more than 10 minutes walking to pretty much any other bar or nightclub you would want to visit. There are plenty of restaurants of all sorts, also within a five to 10 minute stroll.

After staying at a number of different hotels in the area, I think the Cora is the best of them and does not deserve the reputation it seems to have.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jimmrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

The rooms are ok. But the place is more about the owner enjoying his hustlers, which must give him a discount or other favors. I found the staff to be nice, but when money was concerned, they had no authority to "make things right". Watch your wallet. Keep cash and valuables elsewhere and enter with the understanding that this is more of a bath house than hotel. I changed hotels. I found Torre Malibu to offer a discount that gave me a condo for only $30 a night more than the bath house.

I'd pass if I were you. You can always visit and pay the cover charge for the day. That way to can have your fun, but also relax and enjoy PV. This owner exploits the hustlers and clients, he is not the typical businessman.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Grapik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercurio
Hotel Mercurio
#61 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Cupula
Casa Cupula
#8 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
545 reviews
0.5 mi away
Encino Hotel
Encino Hotel
#98 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tropicana Hotel
Tropicana Hotel
#56 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
740 reviews
0.2 mi away
Almar Resort Luxury LGBT Beach Front Experience
Almar Resort Luxury LGBT Beach F...
#58 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
221 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#27 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vallarta Cora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vallarta Cora Hotel

Address: Pilitas #174 Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $65 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing