We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Vallarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vallarta Cora Hotel
Reviewed December 27, 2011

This is a combination bar-pool-jacuzzi-hotel. There are 12 rooms available on four floor levels, all overlooking either the cruisy front street or the cruisy back courtyard. This place is for men only, or, as all the sheets and towels and their advertising logo states, "Solo para hombres." And that is great. You will find all the Mexican boys here in the afternoons and evenings playing in the pool, jacuzzi and backroom. The rooms are clean, very basic but very well maintained. There is nothing unsafe about this place whatsoever. The owner is a jovial Canadian guy who cares for his customers. If you don't leave this place satisfied, well, there's something wrong with you!

Room Tip: 203, 303, 403 overlook the jacuzzi - excellent sightseeing is all I will say ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 65 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2011

The hotel is small with only a few rooms (12 units) and in need of some TLC but the service is second to none. Mario the owner is very helpful and the staff at the bar is always ready to serve you cold drinks which are reasonable priced! Housekeeping makes sure the rooms are clean with plenty of towels and amenities.

The Jacuzzi in the back is where most of the action happens with guys of all types (locals and guests) having a good time. There are plenty of dark and quiet corners for a more intimate moment with your partner or the new friend you just met in the Jacuzzi. For the more adventurous, there is dark room where everything can happen (I had so many hands and mouths on me the Sunday I was there!!!).

Room rates are attractive for the low season ($55 USD) and there is a gate which prevents gawkers to get to the room areas unless they are invited. In all, I had fun at this place and will recommend it if you don't mind an older property

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sam_Gamgee_IA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Not sure why some people have a problem with this place or with Mario. I stayed 7 days, never saw a single hustler, in fact Mario doesn't tolerate them on the place and suggested that you shouldn't offer a "friend" more than cab fare home, and only if asked.

The rooms are great, never ran out of hot-water, great pressure, and the air-conditioning worked - I've stayed other places where some or all of those things didn't work.

It is an older property, but it was clean and the staff was wonderful. The bar opens promptly at 3pm, and at the stroke of midnight the music ends and it stays quiet through mid-morning at least. I slept great.

Yes, there is a back-room where anything goes, and there it can get pretty steamy in the hot-tub. In the low-season, particularly on the weekends, the place crawls with locals, most of them at least interesting, quite a few tipping the scale towards downright hot. You don't have to venture back to the darker areas - but if you do, keep an open mind towards being groped.

It's a 5 minute slow stroll to the Blue Chairs, and not more than 10 minutes walking to pretty much any other bar or nightclub you would want to visit. There are plenty of restaurants of all sorts, also within a five to 10 minute stroll.

After staying at a number of different hotels in the area, I think the Cora is the best of them and does not deserve the reputation it seems to have.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jimmrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

The rooms are ok. But the place is more about the owner enjoying his hustlers, which must give him a discount or other favors. I found the staff to be nice, but when money was concerned, they had no authority to "make things right". Watch your wallet. Keep cash and valuables elsewhere and enter with the understanding that this is more of a bath house than hotel. I changed hotels. I found Torre Malibu to offer a discount that gave me a condo for only $30 a night more than the bath house.

I'd pass if I were you. You can always visit and pay the cover charge for the day. That way to can have your fun, but also relax and enjoy PV. This owner exploits the hustlers and clients, he is not the typical businessman.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Grapik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

There is nothing else I can tell you but heed my words, a nightmare if you are not able to conform to the liking of the owners rules. It is ALL about your money, he will get it any way he can, especially if you get so drunk you do not remember...lol.........I saw him take advantage of those who felt safe partying within the confines of the property, they were ripped off by the owner! This place is a shame for the midle aged promised a great time with "the boys" only to be a bank for the hustlers and the owner. Christ, it is too bad people cannot treat their guests with respect.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank roadrunners35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

This hotel is strictly for gay men and the "fun" of staying here is the nighttime activities in the bar, pool, and jacuzzi. The hotel itself is fairly basic - 12 units, I think, in a kind of odd architectural arrangement. Try for a room overlooking the jacuzzi and sundeck if you can - that would be rooms 203, 204, 303, 304, 403, and 404. The rooms ending in -1 and -2 overlook a fairly isolated, boring street. The hotel is very clean. The housekeeper, Manuel, does an amazing job of cleaning each day.

The staff is entertaining and, I have to add, very much an example of stunning "eye candy" for the guests and visitors to Cora Vallarta. Locals come to visit the pool and jacuzzi starting around 4pm each day and it can be quite, quite lively once the sun goes down in the evening. If you're in the right place at the right time, you'll be treated to one of the staff members who likes to peel off his clothes and climb the ropes hanging over the back patio. This little fellow is quite the acrobat!

Drinks prices are very reasonable. Room rates are also attractive, even in "high" season which runs roughly from Oct 15 to about Apr 15. Summer rates are amazing - around $55/USD per night, but the trade off, I suppose, is the deadly hot weather and the scorching humidity. (In PVR, you can step out of your hotel room and you will be soaked with sweat within ten minutes, between July 1 and Sept 1.)

If you are going to PVR for all it offers, and don't mind staying in an older property, do consider the Cora Vallarta!

Room Tip: Ask for room 403 or 404.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bgumguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

The staff was great, rooms were BIG and cleaned every day. Our room had a full kitchen and 2 bathrooms, 2 queen sized beds and a big living/dining room. Old style hotel in the nieghborhood 3 locks from the beach.....

Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank denvermrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercurio
Hotel Mercurio
#59 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Cupula
Casa Cupula
#4 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
552 reviews
0.5 mi away
Encino Hotel
Encino Hotel
#101 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Vallarta
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Valla...
#24 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
352 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#25 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropicana Hotel
Tropicana Hotel
#55 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vallarta Cora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vallarta Cora Hotel

Address: Pilitas #174 Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $65 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing