We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful! Relaxing!”
Review of Hacienda Elena

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Vallarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda Elena
Ranked #30 of 70 Puerto Vallarta B&B and Inns
California
Level Contributor
1 review
“Wonderful! Relaxing!”
Reviewed May 28, 2009

We spent 10 lovely, relaxing days at the hacienda and enjoyed it immensely. It is a quiet place with lots of old Mexico charm in a beautiful setting. Many upgrades such as granite
counters in the very large kitchen. We stayed in the grand master suite with a huge bedroom & comfortable king bed, large bathroom with open shower set with a giant boulder, and a room-size walk-in closet. The public areas are all very open with great views. The pool area is wonderful for lounging and the covered patio has a bar. A brief 2 minute walk to a very nice beach across the street at Garza Blanca resort where we also enjoyed a fabulous dinner overlooking the beach and gorgeous sunset.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeeZeeCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2009

My wife and I stayed at a new small hotel, the Hacienda Elena, in March on our second trip to Puerto Vallarta. It was an amazing experience. We were upgraded to the "King Suite", which had a private balcony overlooking the entire bay and city, a shower built into a granite boulder, and a closet that was an entire room. The hotel is in a picturesque setting with two pools (one heated), a patio with a beautiful view of the jungle, river and the city. The Hotel is only eight minutes from old town Vallarta and near one of the nicest beaches in the area. The staff was warm and welcoming. I would say that being in the King Suite made a big difference, we did see several of the other rooms which were also very nice, but having seen the difference, we would certainly pay extra for the King suite next time. Being upgraded for free was a very nice touch. We will defintely come back again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomz09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2009

Arriving to this beautiful open hacienda I felt the stress just melt away. Many different places to relax and overlook the ocean, listen to the birds in the jungle or just chill out next to the pool. A much needed get away. A short taxi ride away (about 5 bucks US) gets you easily into PV without needing to wrestle with tourists and parking. The beach is just a quick walk down the road.

Great welcoming staff and even pet friendly (our dog Lyle feels just at home).

I would highly recommend this get away for your PV vacation.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogdoc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2009

I don't think I've ever had such a great time staying anywhere. Both the internal and external atmosphere at Hacinda Elena was spectacular. Juan Carlos and his wife Lapita greeted me and delivered me and my bags to a wonderful room on the second floor. The view of the ocean, the city of Puerta Vallarta in the distance and the jungle were breathtaking. I would recommend Hacienda Elana to anyone who wants to relax in the hot pool surrounded by beauty and also be close enough to the city and nightlife to go into town by either bus or cab. The patio and pool area were immaculate as was the entire house. Two thumbs up. I would suggest that there be a sign at the bottom of the street as the cab that brought me there drove by the street the first time.

  • Liked — The beautiful room with a private bath and natural beauty of the grounds.
  • Disliked — It was a little hard to find when I arrived at night. Street signs.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bellinghambell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2009

I just returned from nine days at this gorgeous villa. From anywhere you look, the view is spectacular. What is also striking is the pure sense of quiet. You feel amazingly immersed in the sights and sounds of nature. It's a perfect place to "chill out."
You'd never think how close to Puerto Vallarta it is, just a short cab or busride away. Located midway between the town and the jungle, it provides both superb sense of peace and easy access to the hustle and bustle of the town. The rooms, each with a private bath, are elegant.
The villa is laid out so that each guest can have virtually complete privacy on terraces at any time of day. And the pool and hottub are extremely accommodating.
Though a little too quiet for families with young children, perhaps, Hacienda Elena fit my needs perfectly and I returned from my stay there energized and relaxed. I would go back in a heartbeat. And I plan to.

  • Liked — The luxurious privacy
  • Disliked — Everything was truly first rate.
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Anne009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2008

I have travelled to Puerto Vallarta many times and found this to one of the best places to stay - an authentic Mexican hacienda, located about 8 - 10 minutes from the old town Puerto Vallarta and 2 blocks from Blanca beach and borders a beautiful river you hear from the house . The setting is a peaceful, gorgeous jungle setting - very clean and private with a friendly courteous staff of a husband and wife. Normally rented out for private parties, but you can also rent individual rooms when available, the view and the room I stayed in was amazing. Two swimming pools, multiple decks and patios, private gardens in the back. For only $150 a night, it was a super value.

  • Liked — the little pool with the very warm water
  • Disliked — Wireless access would only work in the living room and lower level patios- weak reception in the room
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank irishR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Puerto Vallarta
Comfort Inn Puerto Vallarta
#60 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
152 reviews
2.7 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#23 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,531 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta
Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta
#109 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#10 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
682 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#36 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
481 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#9 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Elena

Property: Hacienda Elena
Address: Carretera Mismaloya, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate resort in a spectacular natural setting. Two pools, multi-level decks, lush tropical gardens. A true Mexican Hacienda with dramatic architecture. Stunning views of mountains, ocean, jungle, river and city lights. Two-minute walk to spectacular beach, minutes to old town Vallarta. All bedrooms w/private baths, from affordable standard rooms to luxurious suites with private view terraces. Breakfast and afternoon cocktail party included. Cable TV, hi-speed Internet, free phone, BBQ, on-site staff. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing