We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in the Hostel part”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel
Ranked #84 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed in the hostel part of this place for a total of 3 nights, while passing through in May 2013. I stayed 2 nights, then stored my pack at the hostel for 5 days while I went to Sayulita, before returning to stay another night--and then flying home. I must say, I totally appreciated their willingness to store my pack, free of charge. Not all hostels will do this; though I think it's an easy way to score points with guests.

Though there was no free breakfast (common in Mexican hostels), and this was one of the most expensive hostels I stayed in, I still felt like it wasnt a bad value. This is the kind of place where you could potentially party and have a good time enjoying Puerto Vallarta's nightlife while also managing to get a good night sleep. The dorms are small, with only 3 bunks, sharing a bathroom, meaning you're not sleeping near too many strangers and when it's quiet, you may just get the room to yourself. Each bed has a locker, and reading lamp; nice pillows, decent mattresses. The kitchen is excellent and there is wifi and a computer and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooftop pool is clean and well maintained. The hostel is located a block from the malecon/beach.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lwjubeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VallartaSunSuites, Owner at Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the great review and for taking the time to mention so many details that were important to you! We are happy to help and want to make sure our guests have the best stay possible. We appreciate you sharing your experience and hope you return soon!

Sincerely,
Vallarta Sun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 85 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went to the beach for a week and stayed in this hostel. We had a great time there. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are nice, not too hot, not too cold. Also the hostel is very clean and the swimming pool is great. Nice place if you want to be close to the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wfcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VallartaSunSuites, Owner at Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Guest,
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and thanks for posting a review! It's great to be near the beach and all the restaurants and bars. It's also great to have a clean, comfortable bed to come home to at the end of the night so we make it a priority. Please stay with us again when you return to Puerto Vallarta!

Sincerely,
Vallarta Sun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Sooo close to the beach and has a nice pool on the roof too! Facilities were wicked. Kitchen, free internet and loads of places to sit down and chill. Marco and Brian were both really helpful and friendly, and always around and willing to help if you have any questions.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Thank lydia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VallartaSunSuites, Owner at Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the great review and for enjoying our great location and amenities! We're so glad you had the chance to just chill and got to know our fantastic staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Vallarta Sun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, location is perfect, just up from the new pier in the heart of the old town. Surrounded by restaurants. We had a private room which was tiny just slightly bigger than the bed, and although there was a bathroom in each dorm everyone seemed to use the bathroom that we had to share as it was in the common room. Staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was available at a ridiculously cheap price in the restaurant next door. Would stay here again tho as the price and location was brill.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VallartaSunSuites, Owner at Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at our hostel and for posting a review. We really appreciate the feedback and will look into the bathroom situation for the private room. The room may be small, but all the amenities are included such as A/C, TV and a very comfy bed so we hope you found it comfortable. We'll hope you'll stay with us again!
Sincerely,
Vallarta Sun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My friend and I shared a room for a week and it was great. We had to ask about the fridge, microwave and coffee maker that the webpage said was in the room. It was installed immediately.
Richardo was a gem. What a great guy. So was Jorge, who I nicknamed Smiley, as he was always smiling. The room was comfortable and clean. The only downside was the people using the hostel were allowed to use the pool and deck area. Some nights they would stay out very late, eating and talking. No one ever seemed to say anything to them, but when my friend and I would just sit on the edge of the pool with just our feet in the water ( to help relieve some swelling as the humidity was very high) we were told the pool closed at 9 and to get out. Did not seem fair seeing we were paying full price for the hotel and they were paying just the hostel rate.

Also the room walls are very thin and we could hear the people beside us talking and playing the TV very loud.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VallartaSunSuites, Owner at Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a thorough review and for the helpful feedback! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay despite the difficulties you experienced. Most likely we were in the process of upgrading the appliances and needed to put the new items in your room, so thank you for your patience. It's good to know that you had read something on our website and you kept us true to our word! We apologize for the inconvenience of the pool situation. We will make sure to review with our staff the appropriate procedures to handle the evening guests for both the hostel and the hotel in and around the pool area. We want to share the special perks of our property with our hostel guests if the hotel occupancy is low but only if the hotel guests are accommodated first. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope you'll stay with us again and give us the opportunity to provide you the best hotel experience possible.
Sincerely,
Vallarta Sun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Note: There is a hostel and a suites building, but you check in at the hostel. This review is for the suites.

I was a little apprehensive of staying here before I arrived, not sure why, but that was unfounded. The suite we stayed in was comfortable, a little basic, but had a charm to it. The kitchen had everything we needed and as the other review state, Ricardo was helpful and friendly. The room had a big double bed and a sofa-bed which the cleaner made up for us as I was travelling with a friend, so its fine for sharing, but a tad on the small side. Lots of cupboard space too, so you can hang your outfits, frocks and chaps with ease. There is no restaurant in the suites as you have your own kitchen, so don't expect breakfast (if you are awake for that anyway). The shower was brilliant with enough water pressure to rip your skin off... perfect for washing off anything that may get on your skin from the nightlife on offer around the hotel... if you know what I mean.... The outdoor patio and pool is bathed in sun and great for relaxing in in the morning (in fact, we only woke up in the afternoon, so I can't talk about mornings) but a great place to get rid of a hangover. Also, in the early hours it was a place to spend time with "new friends" if you did not want to return to the room, or if the room was, erm... 'busy'.

The beach is only 2 blocks away and the 'main drag' (not drag queen) is at the end of the street. This has all the restaurants you could need as well as convenience stores and a market a short walk away. Head up the hill and get views of the city, down the hill to the beach for all together more interesting views of the wildlife ;-) Its close enough to places like CC's (where everyone ends up) and La Noche for you to just stroll there in a couple of minutes, which has an added bonus of it not being a long way back should you find yourself in a position where you have a little (or big) something to take home.

Overall the place is secure, well located, clean and comfortable, a great spot to enjoy the many fun activities on offer in PV, both the ones you will find in the guide books and the ones you may not... You'll have a blast!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FlyingLowLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VallartaSunSuites, Owner at Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for such a great, extensive review! We really appreciate you taking the time to write about all the positive details you encountered while staying as our guest. We are happy to know that the water pressure was so impressive and to your liking! Our location is unbeatable and for all the reasons you mentioned. There is something for everyone and it sounds like you made the most of your trip and the area. Come visit us again soon and you'll be considered one of the locals before you know it!
Sincerely,
Vallarta Sun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Have really enjoyed my stay at this Hostel.
Owner really takes an interest in his business as well as with his guests.
Excellent PR skills. Even participates with guests at times for outings.
Excellent situation. Nice and quiet even if you're a few hundred meters from the main drag.
Lots of hot water.
It was the last Hostel that I've visited in Mexico on my 3 week stay and by far the most enjoyable of them all.
Thanks again Ricardo!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank r A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VallartaSunSuites, Owner at Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for the great review! We love living in Puerto Vallarta so we enjoy showing our guests the paradise we call home. It's great to know the things that matter most like hot water, great location and active staff made a difference in your stay with us. We hope you'll come back soon!
Sincerely,
Vallarta Sun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#36 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#22 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
802 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#18 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#21 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
577 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal Vallarta Suites
Hostal Vallarta Suites
#67 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Yazmin
Hotel Yazmin
#64 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel

Address: Calle Francisca Rodriguez 169 | Zona Romantica, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $15 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the romantic zone of Puerto Vallarta just a few steps away from one of the most attractive sandy beaches - Playa de los Muertos - and surrounded by great cafes and restaurants, our location allows you to walk to the most beautiful places in town. Enjoy the quietude while staying in the heart of Old Puerto Vallarta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vallarta Sun Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Vallarta Sun Suites And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing