We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is the hotel and the hostel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel
Ranked #84 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviewed June 23, 2012

In the same building as the somptuous hotel is à youth hostel, runned by the same person. Even if we announced our arrival ahead, we were not nicely served. We had no reduction for the kids, as it usually is in EVERY other youth hostel we visited in the world. No reduction with my HI card. Worst of all she took only US dollars. Hello! We are in Mexico... Had to pay with my credit card. Finally, no room with all the family together. Not brave enough to politely ask two person to trade dorm room so we could be together. It was finally the most expensive place we have slept in ALL our trip to Mexico. No need to say we were out of there the next morning.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Julie-SoleilB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 85 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2012

We moved around a couple times while spending a few weeks in the area, but that stopped once we discovered Vallarta Sun. The staff couldn't have been better, the room was small but comfortable and the location fantastic. Good kitchen, cold A/C in the room, pool access and wifi. During the end of our stay we got moved to the fancier section, overlooking the ocean, which was much more than we were expecting. No complaints whatsoever and can't say enough about the helpfulness of the owners who helped make our trip through Mexico (especially) DF even better than it would have been.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tope2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Vallarta sun is the perfect location for those who wish to be in the Romantic Zone of Vallarta. It is a quiet, cozy hotel. We have stayed here several times and have never been disappointed. It is within walking distance of Muertes Beach many restaurants, bank and shopping. The only difficulty might be the steep walk of one block to the entrance. Cabs are always nearby and there is a good sidewalk and stairs to reach the entrance. The staff are helpful and friendly with information on local amenities.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1mahalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We have stayed at Vallarta Sun Hotel and also the Suites many times. BEST kept secret in old town Puerto Vallarta. Clean, safe, pool, TV, air conditioned, refrigerator, coffee pot, microwave, toaster, WiFi, etc. close to everything. Only 2 blocks from Los Muertos beach, and close to some of the best restaurants in PV. The owners, Ricardo and Kathy are the best. (They also did very well in the Latino Amazing Race) This hotel is much better than the big all inclusive plastic hotels. This is real Mexico friendly experience. We very highly recomend this small hotel.
Mike and Nancy

Room Tip: Top floor has city and a little ocean view. Lower rooms are pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtvhandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Great hostel right in the perfect location (downtown). 2 minutes from the beach. Rooms were fine, clean etc. air con and fans in the rooms.
Nice hang out areas, table tennis, hammock chairs, chill out pillow corner with tv, chairs and tables, kitchen etc.
Owner, racquel, was so friendly and helpful with info etc.
Cheap awesome hostel, would recommend.
Ps if you are in this area I would highly recommend a short side trip (can be a day trip but overnight is better!) to a little cosy beach town called yelapa. No cars just donkeys and walking! Need to get a water taxi there from Vallarta or boca.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank missrach_walk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Last March my wife and I spent several wonderful days at the Vallarta Sun. The hotel is great: clean rooms, quiet, nice courtyard, pool, and located in the heart of historic Puerto Vallarta. No need for a taxi to reach the board walk, great restaurants nearby, and fun shops. But what really makes a stay at the Vallarta Sun such a treat is the manager, Ricardo. He held our hands as we worked through a mini financial crisis (don't even ask!). When we asked inane question, Ricardo answered with a smile, as though he had never been asked a question like that before. We highly recommend this place. And Ricardo was the bonus.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I was only needing a place to sleep since I would be out on business all day and didn't want to pay for bells and whistles I wouldn't use. Vallarta Sun was perfect! They do have all the amenities one expects to find in a nice upscale hostel as well as a very nice pool and sun deck. What I liked best: spotlessly clean, very friendly and helpful staff, and great location (one block from the beach and many good restaurants within a one block area) Oh yes, and all-night air conditioning which is badly needed in PV this time of year! My only negative is that the bed was too hard (for me) to be perfectly comfortable. Would I go there again, Yes!

Room Tip: I took the large suite on the top (2nd) floor, room 201. It has a partial view of the Bay and was re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank professorDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#36 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#22 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
802 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#18 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#21 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
577 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal Vallarta Suites
Hostal Vallarta Suites
#67 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Yazmin
Hotel Yazmin
#64 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel

Address: Calle Francisca Rodriguez 169 | Zona Romantica, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $15 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the romantic zone of Puerto Vallarta just a few steps away from one of the most attractive sandy beaches - Playa de los Muertos - and surrounded by great cafes and restaurants, our location allows you to walk to the most beautiful places in town. Enjoy the quietude while staying in the heart of Old Puerto Vallarta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vallarta Sun Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Vallarta Sun Suites And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing