We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value & location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel
Ranked #75 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great value & location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

We moved around a couple times while spending a few weeks in the area, but that stopped once we discovered Vallarta Sun. The staff couldn't have been better, the room was small but comfortable and the location fantastic. Good kitchen, cold A/C in the room, pool access and wifi. During the end of our stay we got moved to the fancier section, overlooking the ocean, which was much more than we were expecting. No complaints whatsoever and can't say enough about the helpfulness of the owners who helped make our trip through Mexico (especially) DF even better than it would have been.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tope2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    27
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
31
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Vallarta sun is the perfect location for those who wish to be in the Romantic Zone of Vallarta. It is a quiet, cozy hotel. We have stayed here several times and have never been disappointed. It is within walking distance of Muertes Beach many restaurants, bank and shopping. The only difficulty might be the steep walk of one block to the entrance. Cabs are always nearby and there is a good sidewalk and stairs to reach the entrance. The staff are helpful and friendly with information on local amenities.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1mahalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Wa.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

We have stayed at Vallarta Sun Hotel and also the Suites many times. BEST kept secret in old town Puerto Vallarta. Clean, safe, pool, TV, air conditioned, refrigerator, coffee pot, microwave, toaster, WiFi, etc. close to everything. Only 2 blocks from Los Muertos beach, and close to some of the best restaurants in PV. The owners, Ricardo and Kathy are the best. (They also did very well in the Latino Amazing Race) This hotel is much better than the big all inclusive plastic hotels. This is real Mexico friendly experience. We very highly recomend this small hotel.
Mike and Nancy

Room Tip: Top floor has city and a little ocean view. Lower rooms are pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtvhandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Great hostel right in the perfect location (downtown). 2 minutes from the beach. Rooms were fine, clean etc. air con and fans in the rooms.
Nice hang out areas, table tennis, hammock chairs, chill out pillow corner with tv, chairs and tables, kitchen etc.
Owner, racquel, was so friendly and helpful with info etc.
Cheap awesome hostel, would recommend.
Ps if you are in this area I would highly recommend a short side trip (can be a day trip but overnight is better!) to a little cosy beach town called yelapa. No cars just donkeys and walking! Need to get a water taxi there from Vallarta or boca.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missrach_walk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Montana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

Last March my wife and I spent several wonderful days at the Vallarta Sun. The hotel is great: clean rooms, quiet, nice courtyard, pool, and located in the heart of historic Puerto Vallarta. No need for a taxi to reach the board walk, great restaurants nearby, and fun shops. But what really makes a stay at the Vallarta Sun such a treat is the manager, Ricardo. He held our hands as we worked through a mini financial crisis (don't even ask!). When we asked inane question, Ricardo answered with a smile, as though he had never been asked a question like that before. We highly recommend this place. And Ricardo was the bonus.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilcabamba, Ecuador
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

I was only needing a place to sleep since I would be out on business all day and didn't want to pay for bells and whistles I wouldn't use. Vallarta Sun was perfect! They do have all the amenities one expects to find in a nice upscale hostel as well as a very nice pool and sun deck. What I liked best: spotlessly clean, very friendly and helpful staff, and great location (one block from the beach and many good restaurants within a one block area) Oh yes, and all-night air conditioning which is badly needed in PV this time of year! My only negative is that the bed was too hard (for me) to be perfectly comfortable. Would I go there again, Yes!

Room Tip: I took the large suite on the top (2nd) floor, room 201. It has a partial view of the Bay and was re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank professorDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

A nice and clean hostel, only 1 1/2 blocks from the beach and 4 blocks from the party area. The owners Ricardo and his wife were very friendly and hospitable. I would describe them as delightful, helpful and having knowledge about interesting sights and how to get there. The rooms in the basement have no windows, but if you’ll leave the door open you can have some fresh air while sleeping. The rooms have their own badrooms, which is not common for hostels. There is also a comfortable kitchen and a ping-pong table. I definitely will stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventur0usgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.0 mi away
Andale Hotel
Andale Hotel
#101 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Yazmin
Hotel Yazmin
#62 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mercurio
Hotel Mercurio
#55 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#26 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torre de Oro
Hotel Torre de Oro
#83 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#57 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel

Property: Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel
Address: Calle Francisca Rodriguez 169 | Zona Romantica, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the romantic zone of Puerto Vallarta just a few steps away from one of the most attractive sandy beaches - Playa de los Muertos - and surrounded by great cafes and restaurants, our location allows you to walk to the most beautiful places in town. Enjoy the quietude while staying in the heart of Old Puerto Vallarta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vallarta Sun Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Vallarta Sun Suites And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing