We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just got back last night...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Carole

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Vallarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Carole
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just got back last night...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

I had heard from friends that stayed there that the owner of the villa did not treat his staff very well and his turnover rate was high. A few days before our arrival, we heard from ther owner that we had 2 new staff members. Maria was now the cook and Pepe was now the 'houseman'. I was disappointed to say the least, thinking some random guy was going to be our houseman and I expected mediocracy at best. Boy was I wrong! Pepe was the best part of the trip. He is a very sweet, very attentive man. We adored him. He was wonderful with the kids and loved holding my baby, in anticipation of his own upcoming arrival! One of the couples with us celebrated their anniversary while there and Pepe booked them a cab, made them reservations at their chosen restaurant and even bought them beautiful flowers.

He was attentive with food and drinks. Made all of our excursion reservations for us. Called us cabs when needed. He was truly amazing.

The house was beautiful. I stayed in the Yellow Room, which I recommend. It does not have the biggest bed but the shower was one of my favorite parts of the trip. The deep tub overlooks Bandaras Bay with astoundingly utmost privacy. You can shower and feel as though you are outside. Uh-mazing.

The food was great. It started a little slow because Im a vegetarian and dont eat any dairy products. I dont think my message quite made its way to them. However, after the first couple of days, the meals were perfect. Huevos Rancheros with chorizo for breakfast, with a side of soy chorizo! They made meals that really incorporated my diet and the other allergies our guests had.

Overall, it was awesome and I hope they treat Pepe well. He is a good man and he was part of our family for a week. We will miss Casa Carole and hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: My favorite was the Yellow Room. The Green Room had a fantastic tub, but lacked total privacy and y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meganforpresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Two families (kiddo's aged 13, 12, 9 & 9) plus a nanny/sitter enjoyed a wonderful week in P.V. at this great home. Staff is amazing - waking up to the smell of fresh coffee and the sounds of the juicer making fresh squeezed OJ each morning was fabulous. Carmen kept the house in immaculate condition. Maria made amazing meals for breakfast & dinner each day. Samuel we wanted to take home with us. The houseman that makes every day special. One of the favorite parts of each day was the 4:00 cocktial hour. Each night you pick the next day's menu including the cocktail for the day. Tequila Sunrise one day - Pina Colada's the next. Each day was fantastic.

Any private Casa/Villa on the ocean is spendy (we spent a bit less last year in Cabo - but without staff) - but the staff @ Casa Carole made it a good value in our opinion. Split between two families - it was about what you would spend for a high end resort/condo for a lot less space and without the personal touch that the staff provided.

Nice location just a short taxi ride into old town for wonderful exploring.

Only things that we wished were different (but it won't stop us from giving Casa Carole a 5 Star rating)
1. More of a sandy beach (like we had in Cabo last year) for boogie boarding/wave jumping/etc. This beach was good for exploring on the rocks and some snorkeling but not boogie boarding.
2. A real hot tub. The pool had a jacuzzi which was anarea with some jets - but same temperature as the pool. BTW - the pool temp was fantastic - kids swam ALL day. It is VERY deep - so great for diving - though not so big so not good for swimming laps.
3. Sun didn't hit the pool deck area until about Noon-1:00 (we were there for Spring Break).

These are minor issues. Overall - we all loved our stay and deperately wished we had a 2nd week to spend there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LostWages21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

We recently visited Casa Carole for a week long, family, 60th Birthday celebration for my mother. A TRUE vacation for all! The staff, foremost, made the expereince a true experience. The food was fresh, simply prepared & deliscious. The variety was also amazing & we had no desire to eat anywhere other than at home. Samuel, Maria & Carmen are so hospitable & served our EVERY need.....from arranging massage therapists, snorkeling trips, shopping locations, cocktails poolside & birthday cakes to laundry! The house is beautifully decorated, updated & clean. We were fortunate to observe whales & dolphins everyday of the trip. The house's location is also wonderful.....being only a few miles from city center. It worked perfectly for the 5 families & 4 small children. It's worth noting that we all felt safe during our entire travels & stay in PV.

Room Tip: Red room is noisy from road & waves crashing on rocks below. Also, it's top room of home &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyssa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

I think “WOW” could sum up our week at Casa Carole! After an extensive on-line search for a location to celebrate a milestone birthday, we took a leap of faith on this little piece of heaven in Conchas Chinas, a 20 minute walk or 5 minute cab ride south of old town Puerto Vallarta. It seemed to strike the right balance of location, size, amenities, and price. The website does a great job of profiling this impressive Casa, and the actual experience exceeded our expectations on every front – I can’t imagine having chosen a better locale to celebrate my 50th with friends. From the sunsets, the view from the pool down to the beach and tidal pools, to the comforts provided by the Casa’s excellent team – it was truly a week in paradise.

We learned upon our arrival that there was a new cook, Maria, and she greeted us with a warm smile and followed up with many fantastic meals - she is a treasure! As one of my friends said, none of us experienced Montezuma’s revenge, but we all fell victim to Maria’s revenge…a rounding of the belly and several pounds or more staring back up at us from the scales when we got home! Our initial plan was to spend a few evenings in town – having been their many times – there are a number of favourite restaurants we were going to revisit. But the comfort of great food in this idyllic setting was just too much to leave, and with the exception of the Sunday dinner, we ate in every night.

Carmen obviously had things well in hand – the Casa was kept immaculate, and we never wanted for anything. And then there is Samuel - what can I say – I don’t know where they found him, but any business would be envious of such a fine employee. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we felt like we were family being welcomed home. I can’t imagine you could find a better ambassador for Casa Carole. It was so obvious that Samuel takes great pride in his work, in the Casa, and in making our stay the best it could possibly be. Friendly, gracious, hospitable, kind, humerous, efficient, genuine…knowing he would be there to greet us, is reason enough to want to return – and we are going to – we just booked another week later this year!

We dealt directly with owners Carol and John – via email and using their toll free line. They made the process work seamlessly and I have no hesitation in recommending. If you are looking for a real “all-inclusive”, vacation experience, tailored to your own group – look no further. You have arrived!

Room Tip: All bedrooms have balconies, air conditioning and are ocean facing...the pool deck room is the only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Everything was wonderful! Go and stay if you can! You wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fiftysomething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

My family and my daughter's friends spent a week here during June 2011. By far, the greatest value vacation. The staff,which I would define as house friends, were excellent and made the entire trip easy. Let me be clear: the house is exceptional, everywhere Secondly, the staff is even more exceptional. Samual is someone who becomes a trsuted friend and to us, someone we could go places with and have fun. Maria, who cleans etc. does such a great job no notices her. Which is not good as she does an exceptional job behind the scenes with little recognition. The meals are bloody huge and exceptional, the daily afternoon cocktails etc are bliss and etc. etc. Highy recommended except when we want to go..

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ozbundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2008

Arrival: We hired a porter at the baggage carousel and navigated straight through the timeshare sharks to our taxi. We traveled with nine people so the cost of a taxi-van was $60 to Casa Carole and $45 on the return trip to the airport. Casa Carole is located 2 miles south of Old Town ($5 taxi or 60 cent bus ride—both conveniently located). The casa is situated two doors south of the Lindo Mar and about three properties north of Dreams.

El Mozo, Samuel, greeted us at the entrance and he brought our bags to our rooms. Minutes later, we all suited up and headed to the patio/pool where Samuel brought us quesadillas, guacamole, salsa, chips, and beverages of our choosing: Cervesa, margaritas and N/A margaritas for the kids. We prearranged our first day’s menu.

During our snack, Samuel told us how things work: we pick our dining times each day. We chose breakfast everyday at 9:00 am, made our own lunch, had a prepared appetizer each day at 3:00, margaritas, N/A daiquiris for the kids and dinner usually at 6:30 or 7:00 PM—one day we ate at 4:30 so we could go into town for the festival. Hint: pick your times wisely, since Samuel and Angela work very hard and are very punctual—they would like you to be punctual as well. The staff does not work on Sundays. We made our own breakfast (two doors down is the Lindo Mar -- accessible by beach-- and they serve a Sunday Buffet), lunch, and ate dinner in town at Paradise Burger -- kids pick-- they liked this place from our last trip. The rest of the week, we ate at ‘home’.


Angela the cook speaks some English and is learning. Samuel can help with the translation… there is also a well-thumbed translation dictionary. Angela is a fantastic cook and will do her very best to meet your wishes. She does provide a menu for your selections. The offerings were numerous, but with seven kids, we stuck with familiar foods. We had fajitas, lasagna, enchilada and stuffed chili rellanos, chimichangas, roasted chicken, and different salads: Caesar, Italian, garden. Our deserts were flan, apple crisp, lemon meringue pie, and brownies and ice cream. We had the same breakfast everyday: fried eggs, French toast- to die for--, bacon, sausage, mixed fruits (fresh bananas right from the garden), fresh squeezed orange juice, and tomato juice. We also chose to use left over lasagna, fajitas, and the chimichangas stuffing to make quesadilla for our lunches. Every meal muy Fabulosa!!! Each night after dinner, we settled the bill. We paid around $230.00 each day (3 meals @ 9 people = $25.50 all day food and beverages.) Initial bills were more expensive than the bills toward the middle to end of week. (If you need anything (mas cervesa a tequila), you can walk to OXXO which is about a five minutes from Casa Carole-- they also have an ATM.)

Samuel. One word: Awesome! He speaks very good English and helps with everything. He assisted Angela with serving dinner; Performed maintenance around the property; He arranged and negotiated prices for our Catamaran trip and Canopy tour, guided us to the bus stop and spoke with the driver to tell him when to let us off, met us at the pier and stayed until we got on the boat, and arranged airport transportation.

Carmen keeps the entire house immaculately clean. Casa Carole is more beautiful than what the website depicts. There are five bedrooms but you can rent only four. Each bedroom is more beautiful than the next and all have exceptional views. Each bedroom is color-coded: red, green, blue, yellow, and orange and all decorated accordingly each has its own bathroom. The showers all have good water pressure. The water is hot -- tenga cuidado! The kitchen is very functional and is suited with all the gadgets. The dining room is beautiful and you can watch the sunset during dinner. The dining table comfortably seats 10. The living room comfortably seated all nine of us as we sat around the T.V. to watch our canopy tour DVD. (This was the only time we watched T.V.)!! There are many steps throughout the entire property. The first day most complained about calf-burn. Those that did not were the ones that took the steps slowly the first and second days.

We lived around the pool/patio. Beach towels provided daily or as needed—there are plenty. The pool is a nice size, good temperature of 83 degrees, and kept very clean. Although we never saw Crispin the pool man, we do know he was there. The pool area has good sun exposure from 10:30 to 5:30… the patio is sizable so you can move your lounger as needed. There is also plenty of shaded areas. At the pool bar, there is a CD player we did not use, we brought an I-Home and with 8 Ipods we were never without musica. The bar has a refrigerator so you do not need to run up and down steps.

The beach area is rough. Be sure to bring water shoes. We wore those all-terrain shoes at the beach and even in town one day. There is a beach about 10 minute walk south. Los Muertos Beach is about a 5-minute bus ride and 5-minute walk -- nice beach. They have volleyball, restaurants, shops, palapas, jet skies, parasailing, and banana boats. Note that banana boat will pick you up at Lindo Mar free of charge and take you to Los Muertos-- just ask Samuel and he will arrange it.

The catamaran trip was nice: 11: 30 to 5:00 pick up at the pier and drop off at the marina. It is a day of sailing, snorkeling, and beach time. At Los Arcos we saw up-close manta rays, dolphins, plenty of exotic fish that we hand-fed. We had lunch at Los Animos (Mahi-Mahi was great), jet skiing and beach time. The catamaran had plenty of beverages of your choice.

The family did the canopy tour at Los Veranos and everyone loved it! I stayed back and enjoyed the Casa Carole and ‘my’ quiet time around the pool—priceless.

If you have specific questions, please feel free to private message me via T/A.

  • Liked — Staff, location, privacy, sunsets, food, own schedule, perfect for large families
  • Disliked — Not a thing. Perfect getaway for families with older kids or adults.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Traipse_About
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Karma Boutique Resort
Casa Karma Boutique Resort
#31 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vallarta Shores
Vallarta Shores
#3 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
#95 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#9 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.8 mi away
Almar Resort Luxury All Suites & SPA
Almar Resort Luxury All Suites &...
#82 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quinta Maria Cortez
Quinta Maria Cortez
#3 of 74 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Carole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Carole

Property: Casa Carole
Address: Calle Barra de Navidad 1348 | Colonia Conchas Chinas, Puerto Vallarta 48343, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Vallarta
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carol & I built Casa Carole right on the beach several years ago. We asked the architect to design the villa so it would be ideal for rental, with each bedroom having a full bathroom ensuite and a balcony with views of the tropical jungle and the sea. Casa Carole is a traditional Colonial Mexican villa with exposed adobe brick arches, marble floors and beamed ceilings. The decor features hand crafted furniture, Mexican art and sculptures, plus handmade glassware and linens. It is truly a Mexican family house. Our guests rave about our staff of four; chef, houseman/concierge, maid and pool-man for their courtesy, friendliness and competence. Our staff really makes a difference. We have successfully rented Casa Carole for the past many years with a growing clientele who come back for more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing