We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never disappoints!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Roma

Cafe Roma
Ranked #128 of 981 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: A popular, fun, second floor restaurant/bar. Karaoke and Live Music most nights. Always a family atmosphere. Open from 11:00 am to 10:00 pm Monday thru Saturday.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Never disappoints!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We continue to make Cafe Roma a must-do (usually more than once) with every visit. I will continue to bring friends here and recommend it to anyone who is looking for a great spot to stop in and grab a cold beer while in and about town. Roma used to say that they were the coldest beer in town, but I haven't heard that lately. And why not?! It IS the coldest beer in town! The pizza is great. No, it's not Chicago-style but who wants that heavy stuff in a warm tropical paradise? Love the Bruschetta as well.

The staff, but especially Juan Carlos, are warm, and charming as they always have been. I cannot wait to return! A previous reviewer stated, "How can you not love this place?" I concur. :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank PVParrothead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    101
    39
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manitoba
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Welcome home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is one of the best restaurants in Puerto Vallarta. The pizza is amazing. the staff are like family as soon as you walk in. Say hello to Eddy, he is one of the great servers. They take your picture and put it on their website by date.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ManitobaViewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“How can you not love this place?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Carlos is wonderful. Every time we come to Puerto Vallarta, we come here because it's so friendly and full of great information. Carlos will give you some great ideas on where to eat if you're looking for something that isn't so touristy. Their tequila is the best I've had, maybe because it's so smooth. I hate tequila, in general, (it makes me cry, don't ask me why) and we buy several bottles every time we're in town.
They give you a free shot of tequila every time you're in there. They also give you a free international phone call, but we never took advantage of that yet.

It's worth a stop for a beer and a snack after working your way through the flea. Or beforehand, as well!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Brought my family for a quick lunch and a break from the sun. The pizza is very good . Very accommodating and friendly. My grandson was sick and they didn't hesitate when I asked for a blanket. Very friendly staff. Will be back

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank wendybikermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHICO
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you love karaoke, this is your place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Loved our visit to Cafe Roma in November this year. Food was yummy, got to make a free call to the states to tell family to watch us on their live webcam. Went back on a night they had karaoke and had a great time. Had to buy some of their awesome tequila which they give you a free shot of to try! NICE! Helpful hint for karaoke crowd: Submit ALL your songs you want to sing at once. Then they will rotate you through with each person taking their turn. But don't expect to get one more song in after 9:30pm. They are VERY strict about shutting down the karaoke right at 9:30pm. So if your turn is coming up and it's 9:27pm and someone is singing, consider it a no go. Good food, good times, fun wait staff, and very clean restrooms! I'm going back for sure! <3 Took about a month to finally see the photos they took of us and their Youtube channel hasn't had any new postings in months. :o( So not sure if they are still posting the videos or not...but all the more reason to go in person and enjoy!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LISA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Roma also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Cafe Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing