We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent updates make this one of our favorite Puerto Vallarta places to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #109 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Prior to our trip I did considerable research to be sure the Villa Vera renovations and acquisition by Raintree were true. Upon arrival we were amazed at the rooms, grounds, staff and proximity to Marina action without the noise/congestion, plus we had access to the Raintree resort across the street. We will absolutely stay at the Villa Vera during our next trip to PV. The new room accommodations are outstanding - it had the feel of a small apt. or condo rather than a hotel. My husband caught the dive boat from the hotel dock which made it extremely convenient for him. The on site restaurant had great food, reasonable prices and a view of boats going in/out of the marina. We will go back!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kstark55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 90 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2009

For the past 4 or 5 years, my husband and I have taken our 3 kids and their
friends on a Mexican Spring Break getaway. Previously we have been to Cancun
and Cabo San Lucas. We had tried again for those same destinations as the club
scene are what the kids were looking for, but those resorts (Raintrees Club
Regina Resorts) were already booked. So, Raintree Vacation Club told us about
their newly remodeled resort, Villa Vera. The RT Vacation Club counselor told
us that he had just stayed there and thought it was a lovely resort. So, on his
recommendation, we booked 4 - 2 Bedroom Units and 2 - 1 Bedroom Units for our
stay at the end of March.
After booking the rooms, I was really concerned that I had made a huge mistake
as I couldn't find any information on the Villa Vera Resort. Googling the
resort I could only find information on the Holiday Inn Natilus Resort which
looked pretty crummy! It turns out that Raintree Vacation Club bought the
property last year and has put in over $4.3 million dollars in the renovation of
the resort. Boy, were we pleasantly surprised when we arrived!
The resort is across the street from the Westin Club Regina Resort of which we
had full usage of their property and facilities. The Villa Vera backs up to the
Marina and it is so relaxing to sit by the pool and watch all the boats go by.
Before we arrived, I had contacted the front desk manager and had informed her
that we had 6 rooms and a party of 24 coming. We had sent her the names of all
the guests with their room assignments and when we checked in, the front desk
staff was ready for us! The check-in process with that many people is usually a
disaster, but the staff was so patient and professional, it made check-in almost
a breeze.
The 2, one bedroom units were in the recently remodeled building and the rooms
were beautiful. They were cozy with a nice balcony overlooking the pool. The
kids were set up in the 2 bedroom units and they were quite large and
comfortable. The resort was still renovating several buildings, but we never
saw nor heard the construction. I believe that it is now just interior
renovations going on and I loved their new decor.
I cannot say enough about the wonderful staff at Villa Vera. Everyone from the
front desk, to the concierge, to the bell boys...they were all so polite,
friendly and accommodating! By the time we left, we felt like they were part of
our family.
The college kids enjoyed their stay and enjoyed going over to the Club Regina
for a little more action. They loved Puerto Vallarta as the Dance Clubs were
fun and the overall cost of PV is a lot cheaper than Cancun or Cabo San Lucas.
We are definitely going back to Villa Vera!

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank awllovestennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2009

My wife and I elected to stay here as we purely wanted a hotel that would enable us to go scuba diving , as such we weren't looking to pay for amenities , it was the lowest price of all the options and I have to say we were pleasantly surprised. The room did need renovation but I could see they were in the process of upgrading all the rooms as we were there. The staff were very friendly , and I have to say this was typical of the locals in P.Vallarta , some of the friendiest people you could meet. Adjacent to the swimming pool are double "lounging beds" under a canopy , perfect for a siesta !
Outside of the hotel is the bus stop that takes you into town , 11 Pstas ( US 90c ) , prepare for your bones to be shaken !

On the downside I would not return to P.Vallarta , the town is dirty and the pollution from the buses is terrible. I would also not rate this a good choice for scuba diving , Cozumel is better.

I'll close positively however , as mentioned the people are very friendly , the seafood is wonderful ( try the small beach cafe's for grilled lobster and shrimp ) and the bronze artwork on the beach front is fascinating.

Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
3  Thank GarryPy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2008

The worst place ever! The rooms were dirty, they smelled like they had just sprayed raid. No A/C and the lights in the room did not work!!. The maid did not do a very good job. The staff make you feel unwelcome, as if your bothering them (plus they don't even speak English). The food was average. The only good part was the bartendar, Carlos, very very attentive.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank toquinones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2008

Upon arrival to the hotel, we were pleased that it did not appear as run down as we had anticipated from the outside. As soon as we got inside of the room, we realized it needed lots of work. (Renovations are planned for this summer thanks to the Regina Club buying the property recently). The hotel is 20 years old and looks it in every way. The airconditioners did not work and only made loud noises to trick you into thinking it was actually running. Thank goodness for the ceiling fan in the living room or else we would not have had any cool air. There was a fan in one of our rooms (we had the 2 bedroom suite-- don't get excited because it does not live up to any suite I have ever seen or stayed in) but it was there only for decoration. The curtains were coming down and no attempts to keep them up worked. The bed linens were stained and we immediately threw the comforters on the floor because we could only suspect they had not been cleaned in years. The couch cover was torn in many places and the seat cushions lacked support. Towels did not exist on the first day. Finally, the maid realized there were people staying in the room and she began to actually leave them without us having to request them every day. The food was okay, but the flies get to eat first (and for free). The staff are rude (this did not change from the day of arrival until the day we left). They do not understand customer service and make you feel like you are there to provide a service to them. Do I have anything good to say? No, and you would not either if you spent your hard earned money on this dump.

Stayed: April 2008
5  Thank lagirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2008

We spent one night at this hotel because we had one extra night in Puerto Vallarta that we hadn't made any arrangement for accommodations. By circuitous circumstances we booked one night stay there. We had a second floor room adjacent to the open-air restaurant. Well, the room was large but Spartan; the balcony opened to a nice pool-side view. The bathtub was a Jacuzzi, something you won't see in a facility less than 20 years old. The towels were clean but discolored because of age. The very noisy AC did not cool and the music from the restaurant didn't stop until about 10:30 PM at night. So we ended up keeping the AC on to drown out the noise. We were happy that we had to spend just one night at this place.

A couple of positive aspects: (1) they do give you plenty of free bottled water. I counted 6 bottles (2) the hotel is located at the end of a road that runs along the Marina, and the bus stops right in front of the hotel. You can catch a bus to downtown for 5.5 peso (March 2008 price; the exchange rate was 1: 10.60) and you can catch any bus that marked (“Marina/Centro/Hotels”) to return for the same price.

This was our first stay at a Howard Johnson hotel, I am sure it will be the last.

JMTMD

Stayed: March 2008
2  Thank JMTMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2008

Our one week stay at this hotel was far from what we expected from a Howard Johnson. The hotel is run down, dirty and musty.
The furniture was old and dirty, as was the bathroom. Our room was so awful and noisy (beside the restaurant) that we requested to be moved. We got a room on the third floor (no elevators) but somewhat better. The floors were so full of hair that I cleaned it myself with a dirty towel. Under the beds there was so much dirt that I am sure it has not seen a mop for some time. Some days we could not get towels until the end of the day.
The linens were stained and questionable. The hotel has no ice, and only one glass per room.
The pool was nice but somewhat cold. The restaurant was not bad. We had the breakfast buffet , there was good variety.
The evening buffets were something else. The food not bad but the prices which are not posted kept changing,depending on who was serving you.
Best advice I can give is go to another hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank csopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta
#44 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
628 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa
#68 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
122 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fiesta Inn Puerto Vallarta Isla
Fiesta Inn Puerto Vallarta Isla
#48 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Casa La Columna
Casa La Columna
#41 of 72 in Puerto Vallarta
4 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#31 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,877 reviews
1.0 mi away
San Tropico
San Tropico
#18 of 93 in Puerto Vallarta
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta

Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur No.21, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $126 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta is the perfect resort for budget conscious travelers who still want to experience Puerto Vallarta, one of Mexico’s most popular destinations. The resort is located near the restaurants and bars of the exclusive Marina Vallarta just a few miles from Puerto Vallarta’s beaches and best attractions. Soak up the sun at Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta’s gorgeous swimming pool or relax on your own private balcony. If you get hungry, head across the street to Club Regina Puerto Vallarta, which has on-site restaurants that serves delicious food and tasty beverages. A convenient location and a wallet-friendly rate make Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta a great choice for your next vacation in Puerto Vallarta. Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta’s hotel and one- and two-bedroom units feature balconies, cable TV, hair dryers, air conditioning, and more. One- and two-bedroom units also have kitchenettes that come with coffee makers, dishwashers, microwaves, and refrigerators, giving you everything you need to prepare your own meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raintrees Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing