We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grossly Misrepresented as 3-1/2 Star Property”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Amaca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amaca Hotel
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Grossly Misrepresented as 3-1/2 Star Property”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

Property Claimed to be 3-1/2 stars with restaurant, bar; room was to have direct-dial phone, toiletries, bathtub, bath robes and be a "master suite". IT HAD NONE OF THESE THINGS and was not a suite! There wasn't even an alarm clock in the room let alone other typical amenities. The balcony door didn't lock. Only two hard wood chairs for comfort. Beautiful view of bay, city and mountains, but basic comforts and promised amenities were sorely lacking. The location is on a steep hill 1/3 mile from the beach. The shower was lousy. The pool was no larger than 10 ft. by 10 ft by 3 ft deep (at most) and was not heated, had very cold water. Not recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cauchemarlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    23
    14
    6
    23
See reviews for
1
40
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hurricane, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

We felt overall that the staff was very friendly and helpful, but didn't appreciate them trying to give us a smaller room than we paid for. They did end up switching our room to the correct one after we mentioned something to them though. Overall it was a fairly pleasant hotel, comfy bed, fairly clean, safe feeling, nice view and roof top pool (although very small, we didn't mind). Only cons were that it could use a good spray for ants, the tub could use a coat of paint or good scrubbing, and we did not see a restaurant, spa services, bath robes or telephones in the room - as advertised (maybe due to off season?), and the neighbors had a dog barking WAY too much - fortunately didn't keep us from sleeping. Also recommend only taking the bus or taxis while staying in Puerto Vallarta. I wouldn't feel comfortable renting a car and driving on the streets here. If we go again, we will go during the on season (winter). We found it uncomfortably humid, the water not good for snorkeling due to the rain and many places closed- due to slow season.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smoogus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

We just spent 8 days in Vallarta at the Amaca Hotel. The hotel is in a good location close to the beach (about 5-7 min walk down), shops, and all the interesting sights. It is located up the hill so be prepared for about 112 stair steps up from the beach. The best about this hotel is the friendliness of the staff, the beautiful view of the ocean and the mountains from our room, and the small pool on the roof with ocean view. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant but there are plenty of eating places just nearby. It's also a clean, safe, and very gay-friendly hotel. Plus, the hammock in every room's balcony is a great way to relax and enjoy the view.

A few points that could be improved though:
- the wi-fi internet connection is not strong enough to reach our room on the 3rd floor so we had to go down the reception level for internet access.
- not enough clothes hangers and no closet in the room.
- it would be nice to add a small table on the balcony next to the hammock to have a place for drinks.
- have maps of the town, tourist guides, gay guides, etc. at the reception level for first-time guests.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolasQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

I took my wife for our honeymoon. She refuses to stay at a hotel with a rating less then three stars. Amaca was clean and it had a great view of the ocean. It was quiet. The staff was very hospitable. It was safe and it is close to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cocobeanlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#27 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Resorts by Pinnacle 220
Resorts by Pinnacle 220
#41 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palacio 199
Palacio 199
#5 of 74 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Olas Altas Suites
Olas Altas Suites
#21 of 74 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#54 of 92 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Fantasia
Casa Fantasia
#12 of 74 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaca Hotel

Property: Amaca Hotel
Address: Calle Pino Suarez 583, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amaca Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amaca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing