We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a great place to be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #75 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
winnipeg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a great place to be”
Reviewed January 7, 2011

just to let other treders know that my wife and i were there in March 2010 for 2 weeks and everything was perfect...the staff, the beach, the breakfasts, lunches ( dinners were in the town ) .
Some other review mentioned musty smell in the rooms.....we have been going to PV for the past 17 years and stayed at the del mar 14 times and we have never noticed any musty smells. ( we are not time share holders...we are just renters ).

The maid was awsome...clean sheets and towels every day and floors were washed every day.
The grounds and pools were exceptionaly well kept by the staff.
Most of the staff knew the English language.
Nightly entertainment was good.
Management listens very carefully for any concerns and do their very best to try and accommodate.
Will we be going back there ?....absolutely, as we are in the process of booking another 2 weeks in March 2011.
Please tell your friends about this wonderful place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waynelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    35
    22
    8
    6
See reviews for
29
49
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, AB
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We stayed at the Villa Del Mar (part of the Villa Del Palmar) in the hotel zone of Puerto Vallarta. We found it to be very clean and quiet (most of the noisy activities take place at the other pool in the Villa Del Palmar side, which you can use). We went with two small children aged 2 and 4. Our room had 2 bedrooms, each with a king sized bed, two full baths, a kitchen and a living room. Beds were comfortable. Our sheets got changed daily and our floors including the balcony were mopped daily. The hotel is aged but since the rooms were bright and clean this was not an issue at all. The tubs appeared to be travertine tile. The beach was terrific. We would stay there again. The Mexican fiesta was very good. Easy location for getting to the downtown and romantic zone. Groceries are across the street. Didn't see any bugs anywhere.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank AlbertaUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2010

We registered via a Timeshare swap for this place at the last minute. Note that it shares all of the facilities with Villa Del Palmar so you should also read the reviews of that hotel. It was a nice facility but a little noisy. It seemed like the doors were very thin and we could always hear the partiers coming home late at night.

The weather was wonderful in April and the pool was nice. The crowd was heavily tattooed / red neck / Harley Riding types. We went with our 2 and a half year old son who loved the pool and the beach. Note that they automatically add a $3.50 per day gratuity charge. However, after reading the fine print, I realized that was optional. I asked them to remove it from my bill and they did so nicely after I filled out a form explaining why (noting I preferred to tip the people who actually helped me).

Upon check in we were sent to talk to the "concierge". It turns out they weren't really concierge but people trying to sell us another time share. Even after I asked "Is this going to be a time share pitch and they said no". Then they called it a Then they called our room in the afternoon twice and woke up our son trying to tell us to pick up our "VIP Pass". The VIP pass deal was just another time share gimmick.

My suggestion for this hotel is they really need a "no smoking" section on the beach. Their beach is so crowded and it seems many of their low end guest are smokers, it would be great for families with kids to be able to stay far away from their second hand smoke.

I did like the location. It was a 5-10 minute 50 cent bus ride to downtown. Don't miss eating at El Carboncito which is the best Taco stand in PV if you go into town. Nearby, you can walk across the street to the big Soriana grocery store and adjacent "mall" On the far side of that and upper level of the mall there is are a lot of places to eat really good Mexican food at good prices. You could also walk back away from the ocean and feel like you were in Mexico and eat good local food. Also, the Soriano's has a food section where they good hot authentic Mexican food (think a meat and two plates) for good prices.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foodiewithadrawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hidden Valley Lake, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Hadn't been to Puerto Vallarta since I was a little girl with my family (over 30 years ago). How its changed! We purchased a timeshare with Villa Group in Cabo at Thanksgiving and had a few days so we decided to try PV since its cheaper than Cabo. Had the same experience with the loud small room as the previous reviewer the first night. Moved to a much larger, beautiful high ceiling room in another bldg the next day and had a WONDERFUL, romantic, Valentine's Day experience. Housekeeping was great. We cooked every meal but 1 in our room and saved tons of money on drinks by buying our own beer and tequila at Soriana down the street. When we checked out, we were pleasantly surprised that we had spent less than $40 at the market and restaurants in the resort! This included their mandatory daily gratuity. We will definitely be back. We would rather be at the Mar than the noisier and busier Palmar right on the beach.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ks714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2010

This resort has its good points - the rooms are spacious and it's on a decent beach. However, the staff need extensive training (or retraining), the rooms and public areas need refurbishing and management needs to get some common sense! Based on the amount of money you pay to stay here, they need to step up their game - you can get much better service a couple of doors down at the Fiesta Americana. When we arrived (at 4:00 p.m.), our room had been given away and we were downgraded. The front desk clerk couldn't even give us correct information for our "comp breakfast" to compensate us. We were then ordered to report to the front desk (in person) by 8 a.m. to advise them whether or not we wanted to move to the room for which we had already paid. After we informed them that that wasn't going to happen, they graciously gave us until noon. There were numerous other annoying incidents. For example, on Dec 31st, the pool kitchen and kids pool was closed for the day so that they could set up for the New Year's Eve party. Great - kids, no pool for you! Just a series of very poor planning. Management and staff of this hotel need to get a clue.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IxChel3300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2010

So we stayed here on our RCI time share. Like anything you get what you pay for!!

Right off the bat we were pestered under the guise of the girl being our guest services advisor and it actually took 2 very strong goes to get the point across that all we wanted was a bell boy and then she came up and asked how did we know about the ruse??!!
There was even a fellow hanging around the towel area who asked if we were interested in the time share! Very persistent and annoying! If you are going to be there for 3 weeks then maybe it is worth giving up 4 hours of your precious holiday time to get there VIP discount card! But they are from what everyone says very aggressive in their approach so be strong!!

The first room they put us in fronted on the main busy road and the patio looked over the roof top and air conditioners which ran nonstop ...ugly! So in the morning I requested a move which we got. The room was just OK ... but 150% better than the first one!

The food is mediocre at best. Beware of drinks delivered to the beach..stick to Happy Hour or you will pay a ridiculous amount for a margarita!!

Big tip if you want a pylapa be prepared to get up very early and stake out your claim. I was up most mornings at 5:30 to get what I wanted for the day! You will need the blue towels from the towel desk to mark your chairs.

Remember it is not Canada ...people smoke everywhere. So if it bothers you park yourself at the waters edge! The beach boys are very accomodating and will help drag the lounges and umbrellas or you can set yourself up!

I did have a great massage in the spa!!

We would not rush back to this resort!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HighFlyinMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-conciergeManager, General Manager at Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2010
As General Manager of Villa del Mar, I thank you for your valuable comments as they assist us in providing the high level of service our guests have come to expect.

Please rest assured that every comment is reviewed and measures are being taken to remedy situations like the one you may have experienced.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced. Once again, we thank you very much for your comments, and we hope to have the opportunity to provide you with the excellence in service we are known for and hope you will give Villa Del Mar another chance to be your host in the future.


Cordially yours,
Ernesto Hernández
General Manager Villa Del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2008

del Mar is closely attached to the Palma where you check in, which is easy. You will be nudged to go the the Flamingo - a new timeshare - for a presentation which includes breakfast. It will NOT take only a little time, it's the whole morning +. Enticements with the "Gold Card" are worthwhile in the long run with the discounts it can afford you.

There are NO ocean view rooms at the del Mar, in spite of what some of the pictures you may see, only pool view rooms, but you are at the smaller 'quiet pool', except for the couple of evening presentations, which are shut down by a reasonable time.
Two restaurants, one more expensive than the other. Facilities are complete on/at the facility. Local shopping is relatively nearby. Wal-Mart is not too far down the road, BUT remember you are in Mexico - everything is in Spanish, which makes some selections a little more difficult in spite of the similiar packaging.

Having a car can help, but there are NO roadmaps the kind that we are familiar with in the States. Read TripAdvisor on driving and you may want to watch the video on driving a rental car back from the Malceon - everything is different and requires caution and fortitude. We also went the the Zoo, a young magnificent zoo considerably different. You are much closer to most of the animals.

Departing from the airport, with shopping ALL the way to the gate, is where you will go thru three (3) different security checks, two of them into your bags.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank thrpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
1.0 mi away
Fiesta Inn Puerto Vallarta Isla
Fiesta Inn Puerto Vallarta Isla
#66 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
14 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Suites Nadia
Hotel Suites Nadia
#67 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
137 reviews
5.9 mi away
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
#37 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Del Mar
Hotel Villa Del Mar
#96 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
72 reviews
4.9 mi away
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
#97 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
153 reviews
4.0 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#59 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio Km. 2.5, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Mar Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing