We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautful view and wonderful food”

El Palomar de los Gonzalez
Ranked #70 of 1,022 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Price range: $15 - $90
Cuisines: Mexican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautful view and wonderful food”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

El Palomar was recommended to us by Eduardo, staff at the Conchas Chinas condos. The food was soo delicious and the view was delicious! Be sure and try the shrimp tacos (appetizer). They use a thin slice of jicama for the base of the taco, fold over the shrimp and wow, so light and delicious! I had the Mirabel shrimp---sautéed in a tasty chilli poblano sauce. Not hot--just very flavorful. My husband had the Palomar fish filet, grilled with seafood sauce. Both of us loved our choices. For dessert my husband ordered the Palomar coffee--the coffee, Brandy, and Kahlua are "flambéed" tableside---then vanilla ice cream is added. Quite a tableside show and delicious. Very fun!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chubsrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Ramón G, Manager at El Palomar de los Gonzalez, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
We are so glad you and your husband enjoyed your experience with us. Hope to have you back in town very soon. Please say hello to Eduardo next time you see him! Thank you for taking the time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    96
    48
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Get the flaming coffee!!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was a wonderful experience. Excellent view - even in the rain. The food was delicious. The flaming coffee was quite entertaining and prepared tableside. Service was good. I'd recommend this restaurant for couples and people who want a nicer experience in PV.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Ramón G, Manager at El Palomar de los Gonzalez, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
It was a pleasure having you here! It makes us very happy to hear that your dinning experience with us was up to your standards. Isn't P.V. lovely in the rain?

Thank you for the review! Hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lago Vista, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing Evening”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

A wonderful meal on an end of summer evening. The View of the city and bay is always great and the food well worth the many steps up to the rooftop terrace. We both had the broiled fish that was excellent with coffee and ice cream for dessert. The service here is always tops.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont Hot Springs, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

First I have to say that the walk up to the restaurant was an interesting & fun experience, straight up hill with lots of stairs. The view was incredible but that is where our satisfaction with the restaurant ended. The waiter was very attentive until he took our order and then we hardly saw him. The food was ok but not what you would expect for the price, the presentation was average. We did enjoy our banana's flambe prepared at our table by a different waiter. We chose this restaurant based on the reviews so maybe we hit it on an off night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Ramón G, Manager at El Palomar de los Gonzalez, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
We are so sorry we did not meet your expectations. We really hope you give us another try next time you are visiting PV. We will make sure we do not dissapoint next time. Thank you for the review. : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a view!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

One of my favorite restaurants in PV. Great ambiance and an incredible view of Bahia de Banderas. If you ask they will show you the entire place. Its basically a 7 story house on the hill above Old Town and the restaurant uses the top two floors. Its so cool, if it starts to rain and you are dining on the balcony, which I highly recommend, they roll a tin roof out to cover the balcony. The food is excellent, seafood especially, and they make their own vanilla flavored tequila of which you get to sample. I would recommend an evening reservation that gets you there at dusk so you get a good view of the city in daylight and also watch a wonderful sunset. The view of the city and bay below is spectacular at night.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Palomar de los Gonzalez also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to El Palomar de los Gonzalez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing