We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Evening”

El Palomar de los Gonzalez
Ranked #70 of 1,022 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Price range: $15 - $90
Cuisines: Mexican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Fairfield Bay
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Memorable Evening”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Arriving just before sunset, we enjoyed a glass of wine while watching the sun set over the city and ocean horizon. Once darkness arrives the city lights up like a fairyland and one enjoys a whole new experience.
The food and service are impeccable. We loved it so much we returned for our last evening in PV. On our first visit we enjoyed the Caesar salad prepared table side, black bean soup and shrimp wrapped in bacon and cheese. All were equally delicious. On our second visit we tried the jicima tacos with shrimp which were wonderful and two different fish dishes. Both were excellent.
We were led to believe that this was a very expensive restaurant. For a bottle of wine, two appetizers, salad and two main dishes we paid just over $100 US before tip. We couldn't come close to that in a major US city. Remember this included a fantastic view and setting!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank par521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    96
    48
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Breathe Taking View/Great Food”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Staff at the Sunset Plaza referred us to this restaurant. It was a great recommendation. We planned our meal to coincide with the sunset. The restaurant is located up in the hills of PV overlooking the town and ocean! Most, if not all, of the seats are located on outdoor balconies. The wait staff were great, knowledgeable and funny! We were served a complimentary appetizer. My wife and I both ordered the grilled ribeye steak. Mine also came with lobster. Both were delicious. Our friends ordered the seafood platter for two. It was amazing! Enough to eat for four. (They made a second meal out of it back at the condo) During the meal, strolling musicians serenaded us. The evening ended with a complimentary after dinner drink! What a great night. We definitely will return to this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

What a spectacular view, food, service and evening!! We had six people in our party and two of us had birthdays. We ordered various shrimp dishes. The one that I ordered was sauteed in wine and was excellent. Our waiter, Manuel, was friendly, efficient and such good service. We had musicians sing 'Happy Birthday' and had tequila & almond as an after dinner drink. Was it ever good!!! A surprise big piece of cake was given to us and the six of us had ample tastings!!

It was a little hazy, so no sunset; but the view was pleasing. We had such a great time and our waiter helped us celebrate. I would highly recommend this restaurant and go back again when in PV.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful view”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The food and the view from this lovely restaurant is outstanding. Freddie, our server made our evening even more special. Every table affords a perfect of the bay and the sunset. The addition of candles as the evening wore on made our dinner even more memorable. Our only disappointment was that we only found this charming place on the last night of our month long vacation. We will certainly add it to our favourite places to eat on our next trip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maclab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very nice food, great service and superb view”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I had a seafood platter which they gracefully halved for me since I was alone and the dish was for two. It had lobster tail, soft-shell crab, scallops, baked mussels in cheese, shrimps, various tempura and grilled fish. Everything was excellent. Except the mussels. They were not fresh. It did not spoil the meal since the rest of the more expensive items where great. However, I have to mention it here to be honest. I think it was an honest mistake that can happen in any restaurant. Plus, I was the last customer of the night. The waiter was very apologetic and offered me free desert. The restaurant is on the hill, and the view is marvelous. Highly recommend.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank pashenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Palomar de los Gonzalez also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to El Palomar de los Gonzalez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing