We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only thing better than the food was the view and the service!!”

El Palomar de los Gonzalez
Ranked #64 of 1,033 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Price range: $15 - $90
Cuisines: Mexican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
East Central North Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The only thing better than the food was the view and the service!!”
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Excellent food. Good value, wait staff was great and the view of the cathedral was at the same time romantic and unforgettable!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rilla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    576
    102
    50
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“You must experience this restaurant in Puerto Vallarta.”
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We have eaten here four times since 2006. The experience is always wonderful and it begins with the taxi ride up the winding side streets to the restaurant. Views are breathtaking, food and service are the best. It is a tradition every time we visit Puerto Vallarta.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank inlovewithMexico_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A puerto vallarta landmark: excellent cuisine, stunning view and proudly family owned”
Reviewed March 19, 2011

I come to El Palomar on every trip to Puerto Vallarta. The Gonzales family is always welcoming, the traditional mexican food is spot on the mark and the view from hillside is always a crowd pleaser.

  • Visited June 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PuliFonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My wife and I love El Palomar de los Gonzales”
Reviewed March 9, 2011

EL PALOMAR DE LOS GONZALES
What is to say to a crown jewel hidden in the hills of the Sierra Madre, only a few bus stops from the Malecon in Old Vallarta @ Calle Aguacante # 425 you find El Palomar de los Gonzales? The ambiance was incredible, before we started Maria the granddaughter welcomed us at the table and proceeds to let us know about the origin and the history of the restaurant which was and it is amazing, her grand mother still cooks her favourite Mexican dishes. There is no a bad seat no matter where you seat; the view of Bandera Bay and Puerto Vallarta is unbelievable, and the setting was very very romantic, the food was just fabulous, the banana flambé and the almond tequila was just what we needed to end our romantic vacation in Puerto Vallarta. Maria thank you for moving us to the seats where the big wooden parrot was located which made it extra romantic and the view was just indescribable again.

Maria and family we will see you next year

Your Friends

Domenico & Anna Maria Apuzzo
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank inter2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT!”
Reviewed March 3, 2011

This is our favorite restaurant in PV. The food, view, ambiance, and hospitality is AMAZING! I have worked at fine dining restaurants in Chicago for almost 20 years and this is just as excellent as our city's 4 star restaurants. The seafood tastes like it was just caught. The Chef sent an appetizer of shrimp and jicama "tacos" to each table which was outstanding. The view is breathtaking. The decor is so classy without being intimidating. Mary, her uncle, and the entire staff welcome you into their grandmothers home like you are a long lost relative. We can't wait to go back!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elisa6_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Palomar de los Gonzalez also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to El Palomar de los Gonzalez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing