We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reliable and different”

Mariscos 8 Tostadas
Ranked #142 of 1,016 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Draper, Utah
Level Contributor
205 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Reliable and different”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We go to 8 Tostadas whenever we go to NV, 4 times in past 3 years. Usually have different ceviche tostadas, their specialty. We have discovered their "shrimp cocktail", which is really a soup. While overpriced, it is amazingly good. We also tried their tortilla soup, nothing like tortilla soup anywhere else. Also delicious. Tried the fish enchiladas, but they were only ok. We have never had a bad meal here and, despite fact that it breaks our budget, will continue to come.
The reviewer who said it was mediocre ordered the wrong thing. The reviewer who noted that it is mostly natives was correct. Stick to shrimp and ceviche dishes and you will love this place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Namealreadyinuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    99
    50
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent (again)”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We've been going to Ochos Tostadas in the Marina for years. It was excellent about 10 years ago, then went through a rough patch a few years ago. Now they seem to have gotten back their Mojo. We always get the same lunch time food and during this visit the ceviche tostadas and seafood (coctel) soup were outstanding. Fresh seafood. Cold, crisp and clean. Washed it down with a Michelada. You can't go wrong.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I guess we must have ordered the wrong thing, because we didn't think the food at this restaurant was that great. We certainly had much better at other places in Puerto Vallarta. I ordered the whole fish while my husband ordered shrimp. Both were mediocre, with not much flavor, and the prices were actually higher than other more flavorable places we had gone to. We wouldn't go back here again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mkrating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“BEST SEAFOOD!”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We never miss the 8 Tostadas when in Vallarta. We love how fresh their seafood is, and their great cooking.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MecheMexicoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“super!!”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Great tostadas -- all good seafood and drinks. great service-- good place for an afternoon feed!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariscos 8 Tostadas also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Mariscos 8 Tostadas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing