We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marina Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emiliano Restaurant at Casa Velas Resort

Emiliano Restaurant at Casa Velas Resort
Ranked #118 of 981 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
1,180 reviews
681 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 483 helpful votes
“Marina Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

This is our fifth spring break where we have been enjoying the ambiance, carefully prepared food and dedicated service at Emiliano. There is enough variety on the menu to keep you coming back morning, noon and night. We appreciate how the staff whole heartedly welcome us back and provide such personalized service. The smoothies are a highlight at breakfast, the guacamole, salsa and chips are a must to begin lunch and the mussels are out of this world on the dinner menu. We are already making plans to return next spring. Bravo to the staff at Emiliano's! The five peacocks that waltz onto the dining patio also add to the uniqueness of this gem of a restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    26
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newberg, Oregon
Level Contributor
376 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Menu covers it all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

If you're considering a stay at Casa Velas, but are concerned about limited dining options, you have nothing to worry about. Yes, Emiliano is the only restaurant on-site, but its extensive menu covers pretty much any type of food you might desire. And if it's not on the menu, the accommodating staff will do their best to please you if they have ingredients on hand.
For example, shrimp cocktail was not on the lunch menu, but twice during our week at CV, the kitchen produced a marvelous large martini glass loaded with jumbo shrimp in a just-right spicy cocktail sauce. And for Mrs. OJ's birthday dinner, head concierge Denisse arranged for a special dessert -- a rendition of their famous Paris Delight (puff pastry, raspberries and whipped cream) that's no longer on the menu.
For the most part, the menu is loaded with winning dishes. The crab cakes especially were outstanding. Ordinarily an appetizer-size portion, we ordered extra cakes to make it an entrée for one dinner. Other seafood dishes were similarly excellent. Desserts, especially the cheesecake, ice creams and sorbets, always topped off dinner in style. And the Mexican coffee flaming presentation is a spectacular show that shouldn't be missed!
The only quibble with Emiliano is that the beef selections (especially the ribeye) as is common in most restaurants in Mexico, are not quite up to top-tier US steakhouses. And a pizza I had at lunch was not very successful as an example of casual Italian fare. But those are small nits and nothing to fret about.
Breakfasts (both at the restaurant and room service) were superb and provided ample fuel to start the day. And leisurely lunches both in the restaurant and around the pool helped keep the pampered mood intact.
For a change of pace, we found the menu and casual ambience of the beach club to be an excellent alternative. The light fish and sandwich choices at lunch were tasty, and dinner our next to last evening was memorable. I just wish we'd gone there earlier for dinner, so we could have returned again. Guests at Casa Velas also can dine at the Velas Vallarta resort restaurants, which opens up Andrea or the Ribera steakhouse as options as well.
Service also deserves special mention. Without exception, everyone of the staff made us feel special and no need went unmet or request denied. They truly do not know how to say "no" and as a result, being a guest at Casa Velas is as close as most of us will feel to being royalty!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonJohn97338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We ate breakfast, lunch & dinner many times during our stay in Puerto Vallarta and Emiliano's exceeded our expectations every time.

Helpful?
1 Thank Scotp44023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
401 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Romantic out door seating with food to match”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

A great restaurant with the atmosphere to match. Seat outside by the coy pond. Food is great with a new menu this year. Fried Cheese in a special sauce, squid salad, tequila shrimp, nice steak. The wine list is good but the night we were there they didn't have two different Chardonnays I wanted. Service is great and Victoria the maître d takes care of your special occasions.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
113 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Fantastic Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We just returned from a week of at Casa Velas that saw us eat most of our meals at the hotel's excellent restaurant - Emiliano's.
My wife and I are "foodies" and any vacation is built around good food. Emiliano's exceeded our expectations with every meal...breakfast, lunch, and dinner. We were disappointed each time we had to eat a meal somewhere else because we were going to miss out on a great meal at Emiliano's.
We were on the all-inclusive plan and the only minor drawback was the limited red wine list that was included in the all-inclusive plan. There were 8 or so decent choices and I found the Mexican blend to be the best suited to my taste.
As good as the food was, so was the service. The restaurant has a great team of waiters and service staff that made this very good restaurant a fantastic one! After a few meals they were greeting us by name. I tipped about 10%...they earned it. Well done and thank you!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Spicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emiliano Restaurant at Casa Velas Resort also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Emiliano Restaurant at Casa Velas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing