We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beachside Restaurant”
Review of Cuates y Cuetes

Cuates y Cuetes
Ranked #71 of 1,014 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Beachside Restaurant”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We breakfasted at Cuates & Cuentes (CC's) several times....what a great way to start our day! They serve local cafe de olla ( which is a local brew of coffee flavored with cinnamon) or your choice of regular coffee....which is very, very good. We were offered a breakfast special which included a fresh fruit plate, or freshly squeezed orange juice, two eggs with potatoes or black beans served with a choice of breakfast meats, toast or tortillas and fresh, homemade salsa. All for around $5! And delicious. Soft, regional music plays in the background and beach seating is available. What could be nicer? I wholeheartedly recommend this restaurant!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    166
    42
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galveston Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Music way too loud, slow service and the help doesn't smile.Lost it's luster.”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

During the REgga music, the music was good but so loud we had to leave. The service is not that good anymore. They keep raising their prices. Watch your change , they accidently short changed us. The view of the new pier is good but you get a better view from a place further away.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank contessapv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Nice place to meet some of the locals”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Good prices and friendly staff. Nice place for a couple of drinks and visiting with the crowd. In the evening it gives you a great view of the new pier.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seniorboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
195 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“So-so”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Had breakfast and sat at a table at the front rail for the view. This was mistake number one, as our party of four were sitting ducks for every street vendor hawking their wares. We were barraged with requests to buy "silver" jewelry, serapes, scarves,etc. A vendor came by every 2 minutes. One in my party ordered her breakfast without potatoes and was given a plate that had them anyway. I ordered toast with my omelet and received 1 piece of bread. My wife requested more toast and that was provided, but I don't know if I was charged extra or not. The only thing that prevents me from panning this place is my omelet was very good, perhaps the best I have had while in Puerto Vallarta. The constant pandering by street vendors was so bad that despite telling one "no thanks", the same one would come back within minutes and start in all over again. If you choose to go to ANY restaurant with ocean view seating and you choose to sit close to the sidewalk, think again and sit further away from the front.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, MI
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great experience !”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Had breakfast on the beach. Great place to people watch ! Good food, good price, good drinks, good service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pvsandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuates y Cuetes also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Cuates y Cuetes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing