We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average food Excellent handmade Margaritas”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Chez Elena

Chez Elena
Ranked #176 of 999 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average food Excellent handmade Margaritas”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Arrived @ 7pm taking first table. We were well received by a friendly yet quite not fully engaged waitstaff. They were very attentive in making the margarita's. 70 pesos each.
Dinner was a shrimp stuffed avocado that was not distinctive and relatively small. 110 pesos.
Entree was Chicken Chipotle. Spicy okay but very simple with black beans and white (yes white) 155 pesos.
Lots of corn tortillas and Gloria as hostess was very nice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jcnmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    36
    16
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tecumseh, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The best Margaritas & Sunsets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

One cannot go to PV without visiting Chez Elena. Above their restaurant in the El Nido (The Nest) they simply have the best margaritas and strawberry daiquiries. It also has an unabstructed view of Bandera bay so one can enjoy the wonderful sunsets.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LouIenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A trip back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

The restaurant food is excellent and priced very competitively. Waiters at both the Restaurant and the roof top bar go out of their way to please. Took my wife there for our Anniversary and although not a 5 star the ambiance, value and attentive staff combined with excellent food artfully presented to make a memorable evening. A hidden gem away from the action.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PVexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“This is a real special place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a special restaurant.
On the top floor-there is a open air place which is great for sunsets. It's called El Nido(the Nest). The view is a bit more cluttered than it was -due to one relatively new condo to the southeast(?). The drinks were very good.
As for restaurant-one floor down(from El Nido)-the food is excellent. I would recommend the Chicken Mole.
There are lovely stained glass windows by the washrooms.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank pnicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best margaritas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

After the ordeal that is airport immigration on a Saturday afternoon, I was more than happy to walk up the steps, check into my room, drop my bags, and go back downstairs for my first real Mexican meal in, well, far too long.

I had the special, a meat dish of some sort (sorry, the details are fading from my memory, but I do remember it was quite good), along with a margarita to celebrate my arrival. OMG, that margarita... Huge (use two hands to lift), incredibly tasty, and quite strong. I had another margarita for dessert, then (uh-oh) found it surprisingly hard to crawl up to my room and find something to hang onto. This from two margaritas?

The following couple of nights I went up to El Nido, the rooftop bar, to watch the sunset with the other guests. Both times I again had a margarita (just one each time; I still needed to function), and both times, they were superb. (BTW, El Nido is open to the public, not just hotel guests.)

I've had lots of margaritas in other places around PV, but these may have been the best I've ever had - anywhere.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ViajeroPerdido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Elena also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Chez Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing