We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time eating, second time here.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.
Ranked #126 of 980 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ponca City, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First time eating, second time here.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

My family and I after a day of shopping decided to have a bite at Bubba Gump Shrimp. Having stopped here two years ago while my dad had a beer and us girls shopped this was the first time I actually stopped and ate. My family all ordered what's considered american food. Burgers, chicken strips, no one was really in the mood for shrimp. (Crazy I know.) Our server, sorry name just slipped from my memory was awesome. He spoke English very well. And was perfectly ok with our attempt at Spanglish in trying to accomidate him. The food was good, the drinks even better. Overall everyone enjoyed the time we spent here. The service we had. It was a bit on the pricey side for 6 but it's to be expected in a resort town, and a chain restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grace-NotsoGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia H, Community Manager at Bubba Gump Shrimp Co., responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Grace-NotsoGrace,

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our food and our service. We thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Hope you girls are enjoying the shopping spree you did at Puerto Vallarta!

Best wishes,

Claudia Herrera
Community Manager
Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. Puerto Vallarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    159
    85
    33
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A place we always will eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Any city that has a Bubba Gumps is a good city! We make sure to hit every Bubba Gump we see and we are never disappointed. Huge portions and good food make it always a must. Prices are a bit high, especially for Mexico but not horrible.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tls73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia H, Community Manager at Bubba Gump Shrimp Co., responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Tls73,

Thanks for submitting your review, it's nice to hear you are a great fan of our venues! Come back soon.

Take care,

Claudia Herrera
Community Manager
Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. Puerto Vallarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stop Forrest!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Get a table that faces the ocean! I always hunt down the nearest Bubba Gump when I travel and i'm glad that I didn't miss this one. Don't let the busy atmosphere scare you away! You'll get a table in minutes and the staff is always smiling and helpful. 5 stars isn't enough for Bubba Gump .. . the best food in town! Oh and the drinks!!! OMG! The drinks are excellent

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia H, Community Manager at Bubba Gump Shrimp Co., responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Arleen R,

Thank you SO much for your review! We strive to offer the best food, drinks and service in town, and reading your review made us very happy. Glad you could sit at the terrace end enjoy our oceanfront view. Come back soon!

Take care,

Claudia Herrera
Community Manager
Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. Vallarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lunch Along The Malecon @ Bubba Gump”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We recently vacationed in Puerto Vallarta with friends that had never traveled to Mexico.

We decided to take the city bus to the Malecon so we could show our couple guest around the Malecon area.

After walking around the Malecon, we decided to stop and grab lunch at Bubba Gump.
The restaurant was crowded but we were escorted immediately to a table for four and our server came over pronto to take our drink orders and explain how the ordering worked. We were impressed because we had never eaten at a Bubba Gump.

The menu was spacious with lots of choices. The food was pricey but I guess we were paying for the location & fantastic view of the ocean. The food was delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed our meals. The meals were very abundant so I ended up taking a portion of my meal back to the resort condo to eat later.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia H, Community Manger at Bubba Gump Shrimp Co., responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Mary W,

Thank you so much for writing and submitting your review. We feel honoured to know about your overall experience at our Puerto Vallarta venue. Come back soon!

Best wishes,

Claudia Herrera
Community Manager
Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. Puerto Vallarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
“A fantastic experience. I'm in a wheel chair and the staff assisted me in the restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We were treated very well and the food was fantastic. Prices are a bit high but what the hell , we were on a vacation. We will go back to Bubba Gumps for sure.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia H, Community Manager at Bubba Gump Shrimp Co., responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear stam m,

We are so glad to hear about the service our staff provided. Thank you for taking the time to submit your review and come back soon!

Best wishes,

Claudia Herrera
Community Manager
Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. Puerto Vallarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing