We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barcelona Tapas

Barcelona Tapas
Ranked #16 of 999 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sherkston, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We ate here last year and fully enjoyed the experience. Visiting the Barcelona Tapas was on our "must do" list this year. We arrived and were greeted again by a bunch of small school children who will open your taxi door for you. If you give them a couple of pesos for the effort you will be greeted with a huge smile. The walk upstairs is a test however, what awaits you is worth the climb. We were greeted by Luis our waiter. We picked where we wanted to seat and had a great view of the city and the sunset. We ordered a great Argentina bottle of red wine off the wine list to go with the meal (in fact we drank 2 bottles). We ordered two cold tapas and two hot tapas and were delighted with them all. I particularly loved the roasted beets and date dishes. They were all excellent! The service was fantastic and we can't say enough about how Luis treated us. He is a true gentleman. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LJElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,144
    285
    67
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Olmsted, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Long Climb for Excellent Food and View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

This restaurant is on the roof 4 floors up, but the food and the view are worth the climb. It is very hot until the sun goes down but you can cool off with a bottle of wine from their excellent wine list or with the house sangria which is very good. I went to school in Madrid and found the tapas at Barcelona to be very authentic Spanish Tapas, the selection was very nice, the size was good and the bill was reasonable. Great food and a very romantic place to eat and watch the sun set..

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food and a view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Looking for a romantic place to go in PV for a nice adult dinner? This is the place very good I really loved it all. Good wine selection and I would suggest the bacon wrapped dates! WOW sooooooo good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maharet_Hughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, CA USA
Level Contributor
257 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Food, View & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Tapas Barcelonas is one of those unique places you never want to miss. We have been eating at Tapas for the past three years (couple times a year), and would not miss it. The Paella is absolutely the best, do not pass on it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DanandJanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“tapas are HUGE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Loved this place so much, we went back the next day! Ordered 2 tapas for the 2 of us and they were so huge we never ordered the next two and didnt even finish! food was great. views amazing. went back the next day for the meat and cheese plates and it was the best!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barcelona Tapas also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Barcelona Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing