We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Great Service, Nice View”
Review of Barcelona Tapas

Barcelona Tapas
Ranked #16 of 1,028 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Service, Nice View”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I had beef skewers, asparagus, grilled shrimp and chocolate cake with ice cream; accompanied by a glass of Sangria. The total with tip came in at close to $60.00. The meal was good, the desert (aprox $10.00) was fantastic.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy-Kuiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,195
    291
    72
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
shanghai
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just okay.”
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

One of the top 10 in pv? I didn't think it was that special. Ordered the blue cheese salad to start with, which resembled a chopped salad with blue cheese some raisins and bacon. Tasty, however it was the size of a small dinner salad. Next tapas was the bay scallops in cheese. And that's all it was plus the smallest bits of chorizo I have ever seen. Also ordered the spicy garlic shrimp which was nice, but nothing special. Ordered the LARGE tapas of squid, fish, and prawns..most of it was mushy rice. Take out the rice and the portion was smaller than the regular tapas. Ended with eggplant with three cheeses in tomato sauce, I think that was the only dish that was a bit different. Or maybe because I like cheese. Anyways, service was good and they were friendly. Bill came out to about 75usd incl tip without alcohol.

Helpful?
Thank shangy-hi-hi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Magnificient Tapas & Service”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Barcelona Tapas was restaurant #2 on our restaurant safari adventure on September 12th. We arrived exactly at 5pm. We were the only ones in the restaurant and had absolutely fabulous service and food. We ordered the 3 tapa dishes--angus beef brouchette, the asparagus with 2 sauces, and the baked goat cheese in a tomato sauce with toast. All were wonderful. Since we were the only ones in the restaurant, we had our choice of seats and we sat on the top terrace where there was a nice view of Bandereas Bay. Note: since it is the slow season, the restaruant is not open for lunch and didn't open until 5pm.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CosmosMomLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Barcelona Tapas, Awesome food, sangria and View”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This restaurant seats on a hill, allowing a 180 degree view of Puerto Vallarta and its bay. If you want great tapas, sangria and home made ice cream, look no further, you will find all of the aforementioned plus a great service at Barcelona Tapas, start with their homemade campesino bread with olive oil and move on to the grilled octopus and chicken pinchos, these are small plates hence tapas but very filling in deed. Save space for their mouth watering home made basil ice cream, in fact try all of their other flavors like cinnamon and vanilla but do not leave with out having a taste of their chocolate volcano.
All CC accepted. There's a steep set of stairs to climb to get to the restaurant and no elevator, not recommended for people with disabilities.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Palz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great place !”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We go about every week when we are at our condo in Tres Mares. This restaurant is always great. Food is perfect, service and of course view is great. A great idea of a restaurant and the lava cake dessert is outta this world!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timmac8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barcelona Tapas also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Barcelona Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing