We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificient Tapas & Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelona Tapas

Barcelona Tapas
Ranked #20 of 980 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Magnificient Tapas & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Barcelona Tapas was restaurant #2 on our restaurant safari adventure on September 12th. We arrived exactly at 5pm. We were the only ones in the restaurant and had absolutely fabulous service and food. We ordered the 3 tapa dishes--angus beef brouchette, the asparagus with 2 sauces, and the baked goat cheese in a tomato sauce with toast. All were wonderful. Since we were the only ones in the restaurant, we had our choice of seats and we sat on the top terrace where there was a nice view of Bandereas Bay. Note: since it is the slow season, the restaruant is not open for lunch and didn't open until 5pm.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CosmosMomLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,103
    279
    66
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Barcelona Tapas, Awesome food, sangria and View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This restaurant seats on a hill, allowing a 180 degree view of Puerto Vallarta and its bay. If you want great tapas, sangria and home made ice cream, look no further, you will find all of the aforementioned plus a great service at Barcelona Tapas, start with their homemade campesino bread with olive oil and move on to the grilled octopus and chicken pinchos, these are small plates hence tapas but very filling in deed. Save space for their mouth watering home made basil ice cream, in fact try all of their other flavors like cinnamon and vanilla but do not leave with out having a taste of their chocolate volcano.
All CC accepted. There's a steep set of stairs to climb to get to the restaurant and no elevator, not recommended for people with disabilities.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Palz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great place !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We go about every week when we are at our condo in Tres Mares. This restaurant is always great. Food is perfect, service and of course view is great. A great idea of a restaurant and the lava cake dessert is outta this world!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Timmac8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

This restaurant serves great food! They have a good selection of tapas and there was a live performer the night we went. After you finish your dinner, they serve you their complimentary house drink. Very good! There are three stories to the restaurant and my husband and I sat on the second story. It still offered a great view of Puerto Vallarta and the ocean. After tapas and drinks, walk down to the malecon.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Are you kidding?!?! Can a restaurant get any better!!! I've been to 15 countries the last 5 years and it's the best meal I've ha”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Order it all! Go with a bigger group so you can get more tapas. Each with a unique flavor and better than the next. Vegetables are exquisitely prepared. Eggplant 3 cheese and spinach are awesome!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mgwolf15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barcelona Tapas also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Barcelona Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing