We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great choice any time of day!”
Review of El Andariego

El Andariego
Ranked #64 of 1,014 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Bar, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In The Wanderer you will find a variety of flavors and foods to satisfy the most demanding palates; you'll also enjoy an authentic Mexican atmosphere with its colors, murals, sounds and people who attend with the best quality making your visit a great experience ... To remember.
Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A great choice any time of day!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We always end up eating here two or three times because we love the atmosphere, the wait staff and most of all great food at a great price. We love the shrimp and fajitas but there is a wide variety of choices and your meal topped off with a complimentary shot of tequilla. Be sure to have the guacamole made at your table -- among the best in the city.

We always go here on our first night in town--its two blocks from our hotel and a familar place where we know the food will be awesome. We also have had breakfast and lunch here as well. We enjoy the singer/guitar player (he has been there for well over 10 years!) to provide a nice relaxing atmosphere!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Andariego G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Andariego, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Hi! Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We love that our clients feel comfortable and satisfied =)
. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    127
    28
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“My Favorite of all”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

El Andariego (www.elandariego.com.mx) is located in a convenient location, just outside the "hotel zone" on Avenida Mexico and is not far from the Malecon. This restaurant holds very special memories. The array of delicious homemade food, the staff who are always smiling and could not be more accommodating, the desserts are fabulous, fresh guacamole prepared tableside, and a most memorable tequila. I am not a fan of tequila shots but this one went down smooth and sweet. I was impressed. They are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Of all the breakfast places along Avenida Mexico, El Andariego had the best selection at competitive prices. I have been to this place many times for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and always love it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cocbrdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Andariego G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Andariego, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
HI! Thank you for taking the time to give us such detailed feedback!!
Many customers tell us that know El Andariego through tripadvisor, so thanks for your opinion =)
We love that our clients feel comfortable and satisfied..
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
429 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Loved This Restaurant”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel concierge. We ended up going here three times, it was that good. Delicious homemade local Mexican food. The shredded tacos, enchiladas, chile rellenos, tamales, all were some of the best we ever tasted. The margaritas were great as well. Very reasonably priced. We will definitely return here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bocagrlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Andariego G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Andariego, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
HI! Thank you for your feedback =)
We love that our clients feel comfortable and satisfied...thanks for choosing us!
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
104 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Special Place in Our Heart”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We first happened upon El Andariego after arriving late at our hotel (Villa Premiere Hotel and Spa) several years ago. We were too late for dinner at our hotel and we were too tired to head into town. We asked for a restaurant that might still be open that was nearby and were directed to El Andariego, just a short walk from our hotel. What a treat!

We have returned here for at least one meal on each of our subsequent visits, most recently this past February. This is really a traditional Mexican restaurant in Vallarta. While that may sound funny, most of the restaurants where we have dined in PV tend to be more cosmopolitan, fusion-influenced venues. El Andariego is traditional Mexican -- and that is a very sincere compliment! On our most recent visit, I had the Mexico City Tacos (twice) and loved them each time. My wife opted for seafood and was not disappointed. The service is friendly and attentive. (We got a bonus on our first visit this year, when the waiter prepared Guacamole from scratch at our table. I'm allergic, unfortunately, but my wife happily devoured the entire appetizer, with pleasure.) During the evenings, a guitar player provided the background music. This was not exactly classical Mexican music, but it was fun. El Andariego is just a simple, warm and fun place, with tasty food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hagar33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Andariego G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Andariego, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Hi! Thank you for taking the time to give us such detailed feedback.
We love that our clients feel comfortable and satisfied...glad you liked the guacamole and seafood!! We cook with love... this is our big secret..well, it was... now you know =)

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This was a real treat. First of all, the place is very clean, and looks like it has just been redecorated. Very tasteful, too. The waiters are wonderful--not too intrusive, but very attentive--and the food is outstanding. We've had breakfast (one had the Black Forest pancakes which were to die for) and dinner there. The seafood is very fresh and well prepared. I got a mixed seafood salad and asked to have calamari substituted for snail, and they brought the calimari extra without charge.
We cancelled our reservation at another restaurant tonight, and will return toe El Andariego for our last night in PV.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Andariego G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Andariego, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Donna,
Thank you for taking the time to give us such detailed feedback. We love that our clients feel comfortable and satisfied. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Andariego also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to El Andariego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing