We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very but dinner there”
Review of Rio Grande

Rio Grande
Ranked #93 of 1,028 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $23
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Vancouver, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very but dinner there”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I when there to have fresh fish. In the menu they have a hold red snapper in the wood fire for 240 pesos,so i order it. When they bring me the dinner was only half of the fish in one side of my plate and of the other side was the middle bone :( Not very tasty with some overcook rice and some broccoli that taste it like it come out of the freezer.. I eat only the fish but it was so small that i left hungry. I had to stop to the corner taco stand to fill up. Very disappoint. We spend 15 days in Puerto Vallarta and that was the only place i have complain about.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank barbara1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    51
    11
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant in PV”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I love this place. In a city that has hundreds of restaurants to choose from, I always reserve one meal for here - a trip to Puerto Vallarta would not be complete it. The food is always fantastic, the prices reasonable and the service friendly and effecient.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJKemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best !”
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to the area for 25 years and always make it a point to eat here. The restaurant is about four blocks from the male on, square in El Centro. Until recently, we rarely spotted tourists eating here but they didn't know what they were missing. The grilled whole snapper is outrageously good and serves two or three easily. Fundido with mushrooms is another favorite. If you ask, they will also bring out some freshly made pico de gallo. We have purchased some of the salsa to take back to our casita as it is one of the best we have tasted. The staff is attentive and pleasant and they work with us so that the language barrier fades a bit. This is a don't miss restaurant for us.

Helpful?
Thank Kaweenee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious FRESH FISH”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

If you go to these restaurant try the speciality that is the PESCADO SARANDEADO is a delicious fish cooked on an special oven with special wood that make the fish taste awesome RED SNAPPER FOR THE WIN

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank C_Angie_PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast...Who knew?”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had breakfast here twice recently. Fresh orange juice, eggs, salsas...all terrific. Service extremely pleasant. In fact, the second time-- today-- we asked for huevos divorciados, which are two sunny side eggs, one with a ranchero sauce and one with a green tomatillo sauce. The waiter( owner?) at first said they didn't make that--- just huevos rancheros. But then he smilingly came back and told us they would whip up the green sauce for us! Could that have been nicer? And all for 55 pesos. Now we need to come back at night and try the fish everyone else seems to like.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank drshf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Grande also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Rio Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing