We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of River Cafe

River Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
River Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 1,028 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The River Café is a landmark in Puerto Vallarta. Enjoy its cuisine and ambiance with infused flavors for breakfast, lunch or dinner, cared for the friendliest service. By day you'll see this natural setting surrounded by trees, iguanas and birds. At night expect a pleasant evening with the river sounds, candlelight tables, listening to the live music. Visit and enjoy River Café with all your senses!
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

We had a wonderful meal.

The food was great. The octopus was as good as I've ever had — as good as any high-end Greek restaurant.

The atmosphere was fun. We sat right next to the river in an outdoor room. We saw birds and lizards. And even though we were outside in August, it wasn't too hot.

The service was great and friendly. And the price was reasonable.

This is my favorite restaurant in Puerto Vallarta.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jery P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVERCAFEPV, Owner at River Cafe, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Dear Jery,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at The River Cafe. We are very happy to hear you had a great experience with us and obviously to know that we are your favorite restaurant in Puerto Vallarta!

We hope to have you back with us very soon!!

Best Regards,

The River Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    836
    275
    64
    26
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
470 reviews
319 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, lousy food”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

If you want to have lunch with an iguana ,this is the place for you. Its actually very interesting to be sitting next to the atrium and have the iguanas crawling up and down the trees. The patrons feed them and its really quite fun.

Unfortunately ,the food was terrible. worst tortilla soup I have ever had. the enchiladas were so dry and flavorless they weren't worth eating. The ceviche was terrible also.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelLikeaStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVERCAFEPV, Owner at River Cafe, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Hello,

We sincerely appreciate your time and effort to let us know about your experience at The River Cafe. It's very unfortunate for us to hear your food wasn't up to standards, we take pride on our quality of food and preparation and its very unusual to hear something like this. We will take actions to make necessary improvements and we honestly hope you can give us another chance to try our food.

Best Regards,

The River Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Simply divine”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

It's low season in Puerto Vallarta, so we walked right in with no reservation and no wait. Sat at a lovely table, right on the edge of the rushing river in the dead of night, and ate a wonderful meal. I ordered the lamb chops, perfectly prepared; my girlfriend ordered the mahi mahi seasonal special, which was excellent and generously portioned. Enjoyed a romantic stroll along the river and malocon after dinner, you can't miss with this one!

Helpful?
Thank Todd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVERCAFEPV, Owner at River Cafe, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Hi Todd,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write this nice review. We are happy to heat that your experience at The River Cafe we enjoyable in every aspect. We hope to have you back on your next visit to our beautiful Puerto Vallarta!

Best Regards,

The River Cafe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Romantic getaway”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We sat in the gazebo overlooking the river, and enjoyed a nice quiet and healthy meal. We had the Peruvian Ceviche accompanied by a side of guacamole. The ceviche was very tasty and sufficiently filling if you enjoy a light meal. The guacamole lacked in flavor, but we made up for it by mixing the salsa with the guacamole. The service was excellent, prompt and courteous, and allowing us our quiet moment by not hovering over us. However, the main attraction remains the location of the restaurant. Close enough to downtown, but a world away from the mayhem because it is below street level and next to the river. Make sure you schedule a meal here, you won't regret it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Agomz1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVERCAFEPV, Owner at River Cafe, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Hi,

Thank you very much for taking the time of sharing your dining experience at The River Cafe. We feel very happy to know your overall experiences was enjoyable; the Gazebo offers, by far, the most romantic setting and we are glad you were able to experience that! We will definitively take your opinion about the Guacamole in consideration to make the necessary improvements. Please join us for another romantic meal, we will be happy to serve you!

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An old favorite”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We've been eating here for many years. After our last meal, it looks like that will continue for many more.

The excellent desserts are always a reason in and of themselves, but the rest of the food is consistently good, too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SenorFeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVERCAFEPV, Owner at River Cafe, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Hola Señor!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences at The River Cafe. We are very happy to know you are a part of our family and that all the times you've dined here its been pleasant. We are working on a new dessert menu, dont miss it, you will love it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Cafe also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to River Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing