We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Best experience in Puerto Vallarta"”
Review of River Cafe

River Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
River Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 1,022 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The River Café is a landmark in Puerto Vallarta. Enjoy its cuisine and ambiance with infused flavors for breakfast, lunch or dinner, cared for the friendliest service. By day you'll see this natural setting surrounded by trees, iguanas and birds. At night expect a pleasant evening with the river sounds, candlelight tables, listening to the live music. Visit and enjoy River Café with all your senses!
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“"Best experience in Puerto Vallarta"”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is a must visit restaurant when you are in Vallarta. The staff was friendly and willing to serve. It was the only restaurant that served the ladies first the whole week. The setting is beautiful along side a lazy river and under one of the city bridges. The food and drinks were excellent as was the service. The manger, Steven Reynolds, came by several time to check on us and tell us about the history of the restaurant. On one visit he brought his wife along to introduce her. It was just a great experience which we will not forget and will come back every time we are in Puerto Vallarta.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank warmweatherguy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVERCAFEPV, Manager at River Cafe, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Hola!

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at The River Cafe, it was a real pleasure to meet you. We feel certanly happy to know you enjoy your time here with us and we are looking forward to have you back on your next visit to Puerto Vallarta!!!

Muchas Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    827
    275
    64
    26
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Love this place”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

cant wait to go back, mgr and staff were great as were the food and drinks.
The covered outdoor seating was perfect place to stop and have a few drinks and snacks during warm PV afternoon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RodShoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVERCAFEPV, Owner at River Cafe, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hi Rod!

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know you enjoyed your experience at The River Cafe and we certainly hopefuly we can have you back soon!!!

Muchas Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must check out in Puerto Vallarta”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The decor is fantastic with the river view. The staff was hospital and cheerful. Then the food arrived. WOW! It was beautiful and tasted delicious. One of our favorite eating events on our trip. Highly recommend. 2 for 1 Margarita's, get the Mango ones. Cheers!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVERCAFEPV, Owner at River Cafe, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hola,

Thank you very much for your nice review and for the reccomendation. We are happy to know your experience was memorable; including the margaritas; its a must have at The River Cafe! We hope to have you back soon!!

Muchas Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Attractive”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Always an excellent restaurant from breakfast to a late night drink in the bar listening to music. When have been countless times over the years and it never fails to please.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank foodjunkie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVERCAFEPV, Owner at River Cafe, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hola!

We appreciate your review and we would also like to thank you for being part of The River Cafe's family for many years now. We hope to have you back soon!

Muchas Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
119 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Spot”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I live in PV full time and I always forget about The River Cafe. Just came back from lunch with friends. What a beautiful spot right on the river. Great food and attentive service! I must remember this place more often!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KeithMayPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVERCAFEPV, Owner at River Cafe, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hi Keith,

Thank you, we are very happy to know you enjoyed The River Cafe, please come and see us anytime, we will be more than happy to have you. You will experience a different ambiance for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Also, dont forget about our live music, every night!


Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Cafe also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to River Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing