We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food, very nice place”
Review of River Cafe

River Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
River Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 1,138 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The River Café is a landmark in Puerto Vallarta. Enjoy its cuisine and ambiance with infused flavors for breakfast, lunch or dinner, cared for the friendliest service. By day you'll see this natural setting surrounded by trees, iguanas and birds. At night expect a pleasant evening with the river sounds, candlelight tables, listening to the live music. Visit and enjoy River Café with all your senses!
Reviewed January 22, 2014

we spent new years eve at the restaurant with all the family, party of 12, the service was excellent, the food always good and even we were a large group, we had the meal at time and warm, they had an spanish party a little beat strange for new years eve, but generally speaking everything was great

Thank pfl0res
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVERCAFEPV, Director de Relaciones Públicas at River Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Hola

Thank you for your opinion, we are so glad that you were with us.
Every year we make a diferent theme party

We hope see you soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

851 - 855 of 1,390 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

We have visited Puerto Vallarta 3 times in the past 10 years. The River Cafe is a must on our list of places to enjoy lunch. No better local to relax after walking the boardwalk - Great margaritas and food. Their calamari was crisp, tender and delicious. My friend and I often share a meal as portions are always generous. We chose their fajitas - perfectly seasoned. Our husbands had shrimp dishes that were scrapped clean...
Beautiful setting, fantastic service and wonderful food - a perfect combination.

Thank rockyisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVERCAFEPV, Director de Relaciones Públicas at River Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Hola
Thank you so much for your opinion, we recommend visiting us at night and enjoy the live music.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

One of the more beautiful places to eat in PV for sure. Located on the river, very close to the Malacon and shopping but very over priced food. Amazing Camembert salad with raspberries sauce and the artichoke ravioli was out of this world but tuna seemed 'off' a little too fishy tasting and pricy. The salad was about $13 and I would say almost worth it but I will only return on a VERY special occasion, not somewhere I can see myself eating often.

1  Thank Ferretaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVERCAFEPV, Director de Relaciones Públicas at River Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Hola
Thank you so much for your opinion, we will consider your comments to improve.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Right on the river, the River Cafe has a tropical flavor. It is a favorite for lunch. Food good. Mexican menu with a few international touches. Nice place when one is downtown or in old town.

Thank Norma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVERCAFEPV, Director de Relaciones Públicas at River Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Norma
Thank you for your opinion, we invited you to visit us in the evenings and enjoy live music!!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Excellent service, the food was really well presented and with a nice flair. We asked for their best table, and got seated on a little pagoda overlooking the river, which was perfect. Our favourite restaurant in PV!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TOSOTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVERCAFEPV, Director de Relaciones Públicas at River Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Hola
Thank you so much for your opinion.

We hope see you soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Cafe also viewed

 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to River Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing