We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Since 2007”
Review of River Cafe

River Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
River Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 1,072 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The River Café is a landmark in Puerto Vallarta. Enjoy its cuisine and ambiance with infused flavors for breakfast, lunch or dinner, cared for the friendliest service. By day you'll see this natural setting surrounded by trees, iguanas and birds. At night expect a pleasant evening with the river sounds, candlelight tables, listening to the live music. Visit and enjoy River Café with all your senses!
Reviewed December 26, 2013

In 2007,we drove from Gila, New Mexico to Puerto Vallarta, Mexico, an experience we shall never forget. The second night in PV we landed at the River Cafe. I asked the waiter, Alejandro, if they served a non alcoholic beer ... cervesa sin alcohol ... he aksed me what I liked I said O'Douls. No. However, within 5 minutes he appeared with a 6 pack which he had procured at a neighboring mini mart. We've been going there every year since and have always enjoyed wonderful food, expertly prepared. The open air views of the River Cuale make the setting a sanctuary from the hot sun. Alejandro is stil there as is the matre'd, Emanuel, who seems to have an uncanny memory for patrons.
The River Cafe is Absolutely the best in PV (Including All those 5 stars in the books).

Sebert Brewer
Gila, New Mexico and Deer Isle, Maine

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sebert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVERCAFEPV, Director de Relaciones Públicas at River Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Hola
Thank you so much for your opinion, is very important for us.We appreciate your loyalty and hope to see you soon

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

784 - 788 of 1,298 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

Once again, River Café impressed us with excellent food and wonderful service. The fillet & braised short ribs were delicious and the Salmon appetizer was one of the best we've ever had; Salmon was fresh and the combination with cream fresh and avocado was just superb. The service is always professional and top notch, and the live entertainment added to the ambiance and the beautiful surroundings. Do not miss the beautiful paintings and sculpture that are tastefully displayed in the restaurants. We also went to the restaurant on two other occasions for drinks and breakfast which were just as enjoyable. Will definitely be back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank M12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVERCAFEPV, Director de Relaciones Públicas at River Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Hola
Thank you so much for your opinion. That is rigth we are open from 8am to 11.30 pm.

We hope see you again

Happy Holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We love this restaurant. It is an oasis in the hustle and bustle of PV. Always excellent, consistent food be it breakfast, lunch or dinner, with 2 or 14 people. Excellent margaritas and a lovely location along the river with a good chance of seeing the grand-pappy of an iguana. Not Mexican cheap but well worth the $$ in quality and ambiance.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank V-MSanRafael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVERCAFEPV, Director de Relaciones Públicas at River Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

hola
Thank you so much for your opinion, we hope se you soon.

Happy holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We went for a set Thanksgiving dinner menu. Everything we ate was presented as great artwork and tasted wonderful. Early in the evening the music was recorded. Later it was live and fit the mood of the place perfectly. Make reservtions ahead and ask for a table near or overlooking the river. We were more in the middle. It was fine, yet we could have had even nicer with a reservation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVERCAFEPV, Director de Relaciones Públicas at River Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Hola

Thank you so much for your opinion, we will do all the best for future reservations,

We will have a special menu for Christmas Eve and New Years Eve.

Happy Holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Have dined here over the years on numerous occassions. The fare and service consistently deserves high standard and measure. As recently as August enjoyed a casual business dinner meeting at this restaurant; another attentive, deferential, and well prepared meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LMtortugas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVERCAFEPV, Director de Relaciones Públicas at River Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you so much for your opinion,

We hope see you soon.

Happy Holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Cafe also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to River Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing