We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”
Review of River Cafe

River Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
River Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 1,016 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The River Café is a landmark in Puerto Vallarta. Enjoy its cuisine and ambiance with infused flavors for breakfast, lunch or dinner, cared for the friendliest service. By day you'll see this natural setting surrounded by trees, iguanas and birds. At night expect a pleasant evening with the river sounds, candlelight tables, listening to the live music. Visit and enjoy River Café with all your senses!
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We ate at the River Cafe on our recent visit to PV. The food was very good. The service
was outstanding. We requested seating in the Gazebo........very romantic. The wait staff
could nt have been more attentive or professional. They made it an extra special evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chachaandsalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    809
    272
    63
    26
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food from an Old Friend”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

After traveling to Puerto Vallarta for over 35 years, we have seen restaurants come an go. But, it is so comforting to know that one of the finest restaurants in town is still alive and well, and food is better than ever. You won't find nacho's on the menu, but you will find an amazing calamari appetizer, a superb Caesar salad, and mouth-watering entrees. I ordered the duck, which was perfectly cooked, and served with a beautiful blackberry sauce, and one of the best scalloped potato side dishes that I've ever eaten. My husband ordered fresh Mahi, served in a wonderful lobster sauce, adorned with shrimp, mussels, and calamari rings. Heavenly! The bread offerings were outstanding, two servings each of homemade garlic, pinwheels with cream cheese, crusty rolls, and 2 slices of french. That bread was the perfect accompaniment for getting the last bits of those delicious sauces off the plates. The house chardonnay was decent. The ambiance is wonderful. It's a beautiful restaurant, sitting right over the River Cuale, and the rushing river as a scenic backdrop makes for a pleasant serenade while dining. Our dinner for two, with appetizer, salad, and 2 glasses of wine, was approximately $80 [US], and worth every penny. We'll be back again!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria oregon
Level Contributor
1,673 reviews
1,069 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 709 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting location and still not memorable.”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

This place is way over priced for what it is. The rich American Canadian tourist are expected to pay huge prices for mediocre food and drink. Oh and do you need your change?

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Journeyman644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level Contributor
155 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“wine too expensive”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The place is very pleasant,
I chose the least expensive wine bottle a Chianti in 490 pesos and Chile has more than 500 pesos too expensive !!!!!!!
a little bit slow service
week of the octopus, the octopus in the gallega very tasty, salad of octopus with many lettuce..
Anticucho of delicious octopus
dessert without big interest

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MARCOITALO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice dinner on the River”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My wife and I went to dinner at the River Cafe with some friends and we were given a nice table overlooking the River. We both had the giant scrimp which were delicious. Our server was very personable and nice. Looking forward to going back and exploring the menu more. This is a classy place and worth the price.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Cafe also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to River Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing