We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off to a Delightful Start” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Cafe

River Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
River Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 980 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The River Café is a landmark in Puerto Vallarta. Enjoy its cuisine and ambiance with infused flavors for breakfast, lunch or dinner, cared for the friendliest service. By day you'll see this natural setting surrounded by trees, iguanas and birds. At night expect a pleasant evening with the river sounds, candlelight tables, listening to the live music. Visit and enjoy River Café with all your senses!
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Off to a Delightful Start”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

On the first evening of our most recent trip to Puerto Vallarta, my teenaged daughter and I enjoyed dinner at The River Cafe, on La Isla del Rio Cuale. We were seated in a pavilion above the river, with lush trees creating beautiful dinning decor. The fare was prepared just a s we requested, and the service was charming and very efficient.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KikiPSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    776
    265
    62
    26
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant on Isla Rio Cuale”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had a big extended family meal here to celebrate my daughter's wedding day. The service was a little slow but the waitstaff was friendly. The place has a good view of the river and we saw several huge iguanas on nearby tree branches. The food is above average with interesting presentation. I had the club sandwich and it was very good. Others in our party had various Mexican dishes and enjoyed them.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank irwinjosephneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An amazing breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

My son and his father had breakfast there, got into the city by bus and enjoyed an amazing meal. Then did some shopping. When they got back, all they could talk about was the food and service. Both were excellent and its in a cool and quiet part of town.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Larin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch with the Iguanas of the River Cuale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

To celebrate Father´s Day we took a short walk to an island on the River Cuale. The restaurant´s extended gazebo unto the river, gave us privacy and direct contact with the flora and fauna. While colorful, fat iguanas ambled by and white herons swooped up fish, we settled down to a delicious Sunday brunch. The usual buffet fare was made even better by authentic Mexican cuisine, favored by us locals. The service is impeccable from the owner herself to the friendly waiters. But the combination of it all is the magic that happens at the River Cafe. Dinners can also be incredibly romantic with candlelight and live (soft) music.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank rosangelicamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
“Great Food & Service, Perfect Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We came to Puerto Vallarta from Florida and friends had recommended we try River Cafe. It was perfect. We had 2 for 1 drinks with tasty appetizers, mussels, tuna carpaccio, and salmon bruschetta.The best mussels ever! They were huge and plentiful and came in an amazing cream sauce...perfect for dipping with the complementary bread. Absolutely decadent! The bread is also served with a chipotle butter, my mom loved it! The tuna carpaccio was delicious too. Carpaccio is always so good and goes so fast because it is thinly sliced but the taste of their tuna carpaccio with capers and olive oil, YUM! The salmon bruschetta was good too but I would get two carpaccios next time rather than the bruschetta, lol Our server was great, Hernando, he was friendly and personable and really made our experience,,,,great suggestions.We liked itso much we brought the family back for lunch a few days later. The view is beautiful with the river and the iguanas. A little nature oasis in the city!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sobemoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Cafe also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to River Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing