We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The River Cafe", Puerto Vallarta, MUST-VISIT!”
Review of River Cafe

River Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
River Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 1,014 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The River Café is a landmark in Puerto Vallarta. Enjoy its cuisine and ambiance with infused flavors for breakfast, lunch or dinner, cared for the friendliest service. By day you'll see this natural setting surrounded by trees, iguanas and birds. At night expect a pleasant evening with the river sounds, candlelight tables, listening to the live music. Visit and enjoy River Café with all your senses!
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“"The River Cafe", Puerto Vallarta, MUST-VISIT!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful, romantic and stunning restaurants in all of PV!
It is located on the island of the river " Cuale " in downtown PV and the location alone is magical!
You cannot beat the atmosphere of this place! Very romantic and surrounded by immense greenery and ancient trees and the river, of course!

A fantastic place to celebrate a special occasion or for a nice, elegant dinner with friends or your loved one!

The food is fantastic and beautifully presented and the service is impeccable and friendly!

We have come to PV for many years and always come back here at least once or twice during our visit!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel-Troopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    807
    271
    63
    26
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Coming from a selective person, the food was top notch. There were 4 of us and we all chose different entree's...ribeye (good portion) steak, Mahi mahi, seared ahi, and rack of lamb.
All of these were cooked to perfection, nice presentations, and each with a delicious sauce. Fresh baked rolls (delicious) and nice roasted veggies to compliment each dish.
Delicious desserts...I had the chocolate soufflé which was done to perfection so that the chocolate sauce flowed nicely.
Our bill was under $100 for two with a tip and a drink...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SidKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty Lake, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't miss this riverfront dining experience it's fabulous”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Excellent wine choices. Definitly one of the best steaks in Puerto Vallarta! The service was impeccable as was the whole dining experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy_P540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This was a return visit from a couple of years ago. First of all, the location is on an island and it faces the river. It is quite a sight. Very good, attentive service.
We shared a couple of salads that were creative and pleasant on the palate. After that I had the duck, which I think one of the best I ever had. The desert was delicious as well. I would absolutely recommend as one of the best dining experience in Vallarta.
We did go as well for the Sunday Brunch, and while good it's just not comparable to the wonderful dining experience we had.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ianos4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“If you are really missing a good Steak”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

One of the few places in Mexico to get a really good steak, the rib eye is so good. The place is romantic with good music and service. Sitting on the edge of the river a beautiful view. You will love this place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maharet_Hughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Cafe also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to River Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing