We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”
Review of River Cafe

River Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
River Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 1,033 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The River Café is a landmark in Puerto Vallarta. Enjoy its cuisine and ambiance with infused flavors for breakfast, lunch or dinner, cared for the friendliest service. By day you'll see this natural setting surrounded by trees, iguanas and birds. At night expect a pleasant evening with the river sounds, candlelight tables, listening to the live music. Visit and enjoy River Café with all your senses!
Regina
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had a nice brunch at the River Cafe. It is a very nice setting that soothes the senses while you enjoy your meal. It is almost like a little nature retreat right in the heart of PV.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReginaBeachRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    844
    276
    64
    26
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chetek, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Wedding Experience”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I recently held my wedding at The River Cafe. It could not have gone better. The general manager, Michael, made sure that everything was perfect. My wife and I had gone to The River Cafe last April when we were looking at locations to hold our wedding and we fell in love with the place then. We had a group of 25 people of varying ages that came to Puerto Vallarta for our wedding. Every single person thought that The River Cafe did a fantastic job. The restaurant is naturally beautiful. The food was spectacular. The service was excellent. We did a two hour open bar for about $20.00 per person. Our meals were approximately $30.00 each and included fillet mignon and mahi mahi. I can't say enough good things about our experience at The River Cafe and highly recommend this restaurant for special occasions or simply for an excellent meal. We can't wait to return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarkleyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVERCAFEPV, Owner at River Cafe, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you and it was a honor to host your special day here! We are truly happy that the evening turned out perfect for you both and the family. When you both are back in Puerto Vallarta please stop by with the family and we can share some more great stories.

Sincerely
The River Café
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We went for lunch and it is so quaint . The restaurant was recommended by a man in a store so we walked a couple of blocks not knowing where we were going. What a great find! The table was on a little bridge over the river. The food was good but it was the atmosphere that will get me back there. Loved it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank nancy41477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must work it in on PV visit”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Every trip to PV we try to visit River Café at least once. It's a tad pricey, otherwise we'd go more often. Service is very good, wine selections are interesting and good. Food is very creative, and delicious. There's a sprinkling of Mexican only appetizers and entrees, and several good seafood and red meat options of a more "international" nature. I can especially recommend the Duck Duo, or some such name as that. The duck leg comfit is authentic, rich and awesome. Romantic spot, live music usually, which is far enough away to not overwhelm the conversation. Never had breakfast and lunch there, but dinner is a treat. Go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank salesman30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Love the place”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went there for lunch and enjoyed it so much we went back for diner later in the week and got a table out by the river cuale. Food is excellent and their margaritas large and tasty. Our waiter performed some magic tricks and his diner suggestions we right on. It has nice cooling fans and also gets a cool breeze thru the dining area . Very clean and friendly place. Be back in December.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chs47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Cafe also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to River Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing