We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal in the Marina in Puerto Vallarta”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Porto Bello

Porto Bello
Ranked #34 of 999 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Open daily from 12:00 to 11:00 p.m
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
401 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Great meal in the Marina in Puerto Vallarta”
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

During our current trip to Puerto Vallarta we have had a couple of lovely meals at this restaurant. We have sampled calamari, Caesar salad, pasta with seafood and fresh fish. All food tried has been excellent. Service is friendly and attentive. Great restaurant for a special occasion

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank gmtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    142
    37
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California, United States
Level Contributor
517 reviews
363 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great ambiance and service; average food”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My boyfriend and I dined here after the concierge at our hotel recommended it. The marina view was beautiful, the ambiance was elegant and the service was excellent. We ordered the bruschetta as an appetizer, and for the main course, we ordered the prosciutto tortellini and the clam soup. The soup was pretty amazing, but the rest of the courses were pretty average (nothing to rave about). In fact, the following day we found a little Canadian joint that blew Porto Bello's pasta out of the water (Blake's Restaurant and Bar). I'd say that it was a nice dinner, but the restaurant itself was more impressive than the actual food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Real Italian!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Checked our luggage at the airport early and hit this hot spot! Pricy but great food and service! This is 5 minutes from the airport and not much of a wait for great food. One of my favourites! Certainly beats waiting at the airport! I highly recommend the veal and pasta. Great spot!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, WY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great location”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Dinner was outstanding. Our waiter recommended an excellent mid-priced chianti that was perfect. The steamed mussels with homemade bread were scrumptious. My boyfriend had the sea bass with lyonese potatoes and artichokes and I had the veal Porto Bello. Both were outstanding. We finished off with chocolate cannelloni and Italian coffees. The service was five star status and the ambiance was wonderful. It is a bit noisy, so if you want a quiet spot be sure to ask. But we enjoyed the vibe and having the mariachi band stop by was a special treat. This is definitely a place not to be missed in the Marina

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wyeventer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

this is a first class restaurant. the food is excellent quality and well prepared and presented. You can't match the service and the view on the Marina. I would say this is the best restaurant in the Marina. I give it five stars but I want to mention that smoking and food don't go well together. I would suggest they make this a 'no smoking' restaurant. (Mezzogiorno's in Bucerias is a no smoking restaurant). We need more no smoking restaurants in this area. We like this so much we've been twice. Ask for Oscar who performs napkin tricks at your table after you're done the meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beverley I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto Bello also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Porto Bello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing