We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”
Review of Porto Bello

Porto Bello
Ranked #34 of 1,020 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Open tuesday to sunday from 2:00 to 11:00 pm. Closed on Monday
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

this is a first class restaurant. the food is excellent quality and well prepared and presented. You can't match the service and the view on the Marina. I would say this is the best restaurant in the Marina. I give it five stars but I want to mention that smoking and food don't go well together. I would suggest they make this a 'no smoking' restaurant. (Mezzogiorno's in Bucerias is a no smoking restaurant). We need more no smoking restaurants in this area. We like this so much we've been twice. Ask for Oscar who performs napkin tricks at your table after you're done the meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beverley I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    146
    38
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
445 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“A Must On Your List of Marina Dining in PV”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We ate twice at PB during our week stay in PV. That should say it all. Fabulous dining experience. Italian food as it is created in Italy. Light sauces, generous portions, impeccable service. Ask for Armando to wait on you. He's been there for 14+ years and will remember what you like to drink and eat if you return within the week. He's fabulous.
We enjoyed the grilled shrimp with pasta. Our husbands chose grilled sea bass... Plates were clean at the end. Of course, the Apple Tart was a delightful ending to the meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rockyisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A Real Favorite”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I make a reservation every year for my first dinner in Puerto Vallarta. We have been travelling all day to get there and we all know what that is like now that the airlines consider us cattle with cash to spend on multiple comforts that used to be considered party of their service. You couldn't ask for tougher customers under the circumstances but they make me feel at home and that everything from that point on is going to be the vacation I was paying for.
The selection and food is excellent. The drinks are a healthy pour and you are experiencing what Puerto Vallarta is all about, good food, good service and genuinely friendly people.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rreishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Two nights at Porto Bello”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We came here one night for dinner and then came back two nights later! We had been here many years ago on an earlier trip to Puerto Vallarta. We had a great experience sitting outside overlooking the marina. The food was delicious, especially the breaded chicken dish. Oscar, our waiter, took wonderful care of us both times. Our second visit, we sat inside and got our food extremely quickly.These were two of our favorite meals of the trip, and if we come back to Puerto Vallarta, we will definitely return to Porto Bello!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SIG21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful night on the marina”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We have had a beautiful vacation in Puerto Vallarta and decided to celebrate our last evening at Porto Bello. What a beautiful night. Aside from the gorgeous vista, the food is fantastic. I loved the veal Porto bello and my husband raved about the ossobuco. Our waiter, Armando, made our evening extra special with his exceptional service and the mariaggi's, table side, made the evening perfect. A definite must!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 576travelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto Bello also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Porto Bello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing