We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Restaurant in the Marina”
Review of Porto Bello

Porto Bello
Ranked #34 of 1,014 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: tuesday to sunday from 2:00 to 11:00 pm
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in the Marina”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

When you buy real estate you say location, location, location. When you dine it's more complex. For me it's service, service, service, then taste, taste, taste and then environment.
This place has all three!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SmittyYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    146
    38
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not All That...”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband and I made reservations a week in advance for our first visit to Porto Bello on Marina Vallarta on Valentine's Day. We settled for a 6:00 PM reservation instead of the 7:00 PM requested because, as we were told by the hostess, we would have to sit inside as outdoors was booked for that time slot. We were seated promptly at 6:00...at 7:00 there were 8 empty tables outside, 3 front tables empty. No one sitting inside. Hmm. Several groups of regulars came in, were greeted warmly & received exceptional service. The party of 6 regulars were seated at one of the front tables. Hmm.
To the food: My $10.50 glass of Pinot Grisio from Venice was tasteless. Our calamari starter was chewy. If it's one thing Italians know it's great calamari & this was not it. Our main courses were not worthy of the high praise given in reviews. The house pasta speciality used canned artichokes and black olives. Honestly! A very expensive $17 bowl of fussili, canned artichokes, olives and onion. We finished half of our meal & waited an unacceptable amount of time for staff to notice that we were finished. Dessert? They were out of our first choice...Enough said. We do plan on returning and giving the place a 2nd chance...it was Valentine's Day after all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FranciscaFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Standard of Excellence in the Marina”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Porto Bello is the standard of excellence for Marina Restaurants. It has an established tenure and has proved itself to locals and regulars over the years as being the go-to gourmet restaurant in the Marina.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColdwellBankerPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
“The Best & & Most Flavourful & Most Charming Restaurant & Crew!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

From arriving to the entrance to the signing out, dining at this superb restaurant with its beautiful ambiance and service is a 5 star experience for the heart. You feel the passion and the caring... True to Italian culture, from A to Z! And not expensive at all for the quality you get!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“So good we had to go back”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have been to Puerto Vallarta many times over the last 20 years and every time Portobello ends up being our favorite. The location in the Marina is perfect. The atmosphere is casual, yet a touch of elegance. The staff from the hostess to the waiter have always benn most accomadating. The food is wonderful. Excellent veal dishes, fresh red snapper, and superb pasta. This why we always dine there twice on each visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bsu2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto Bello also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Porto Bello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing