We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard of Excellence in the Marina”
Review of Porto Bello

Porto Bello
Ranked #38 of 1,028 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Open tuesday to sunday from 2:00 to 11:00 pm. Closed on Monday
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Standard of Excellence in the Marina”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Porto Bello is the standard of excellence for Marina Restaurants. It has an established tenure and has proved itself to locals and regulars over the years as being the go-to gourmet restaurant in the Marina.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColdwellBankerPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    148
    40
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
“The Best & & Most Flavourful & Most Charming Restaurant & Crew!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

From arriving to the entrance to the signing out, dining at this superb restaurant with its beautiful ambiance and service is a 5 star experience for the heart. You feel the passion and the caring... True to Italian culture, from A to Z! And not expensive at all for the quality you get!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“So good we had to go back”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have been to Puerto Vallarta many times over the last 20 years and every time Portobello ends up being our favorite. The location in the Marina is perfect. The atmosphere is casual, yet a touch of elegance. The staff from the hostess to the waiter have always benn most accomadating. The food is wonderful. Excellent veal dishes, fresh red snapper, and superb pasta. This why we always dine there twice on each visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bsu2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Consistently superb”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I am puzzled about the last reviewers comments as I was dining at Portobello last night as well and received impeccable service and an amazing meal. We arrived without reservations, which is normal for us. The hostess was very pleasant and said "no problem" and seated us in the middle of the dining room, which was fine as the views are lovely no matter where you are seated and we did not have reservations. I did notice that everyone that walked in wanted a seat by the walkway/water and would get "butt hurt" if they didn't get one. There are limited seats in this area, which I assume are saved for those with reservations. At one point, the staff had to completely rearrange the restaurant's seating to accommodate some butt-hurt party, having to lift a table for six over my head and around the back of me to accommodate their by the walkway request. Could make anyone a little testy....

Anyway, on to the review. I am a local in the Marina area and have frequented this restaurant more times than I can count. It is always a place I bring visiting guests for a lovely meal, beautiful views, and outstanding friendly service and last night was no exception. Our salmon and sea bass was perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. I have always ordered the pasta dishes in the past because they are always amazing, but have recently gone gluten free so ordered off the secondi menu and was pleasantly surprised that these selections were equally amazing.

This restaurant is upscale and elegant. Not the place to roll off the beach, throw on a T-shirt and chow down. Also, if you want a table by the water, needless to say, make a reservation!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RKStrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice location, mediocre food”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to me by a friend, so that's why we gave it a try. Might have just been the night, it was busy, the hostess that greeted us was rude, which was very surprising as every person we had met so far had been so courteous and kind, we were told us our table was not ready and to sit in the bar, ok by us! Once seated it took awhile to have our order taken, again fine by us, we were enjoying some wine, when our main course did arrive we were all disappointed, definitely not worth the price. I would not head back, but it does seem like a popular location.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto Bello also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Porto Bello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing