We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Giant Potions” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pipi's

Pipi's
Ranked #40 of 981 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Giant Potions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We ate here with friends and everyone left with the next nights dinner!! The portions are so huge, you really feel like your getting your moneys worth! The food was very good too.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ingridadan1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,015 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,279
    454
    168
    62
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A very Gringo "Mexican" experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

After 10 years of visiting PV and 2 years living here full-time, we FINALLY went to Pipi's tonight, since they are air conditioned, and we thought we should try it. EXCELLENT service, but VERY Gringo. We ordered the spinach and mushroom enchiladas, which you would not expect to be spicy anyway, and the chiles rellenos, which should be. The pico de gallo salsa seemed canned and the guacamole, which we ordered "medium", was VERY bland. After asking for some Salsa Huichol and Habanera salsa, we were able to raise the temp on all items to close to Mexican level. The margaritas are gigantic, but a smaller one with a higher grade of tequila would be more enjoyable. Nice mariachi music, but I felt like I was eating at a Mexican wannabe restaurant in the United States. Somewhat pricey for Puerto Vallarta, as well. Interesting experience, and the AC was good on a torrid evening, but we will go back to eating in real Mexican restaurants.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CherieSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What tourists expect, Pipi's delivers.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Pipi's serves tex mex. Burritos, fajitas, the kind of food you would find in a Chilis. It's well made, with generous portions and lots of meat, but it's not authentic Mexican - it's what Americans think will be authentic Mexican. The clientele is typically American families - we didn't see any locals there at all when we visited on a friday night.

Fresh guacamole is made in front of you when you arrive. In exchange for a small tip ($2 is customary) you get delicious fresh guacamole - it's a great tourist attraction, and worth going for that alone.

There are flavoured Margeritas in ridiculously large glasses - often too sweet to finish. Each drink is roughly $120 pesos, and meals around the $170 - $220 mark. It's expensive for what it is.

The service is good, and they have an in-house Mariachi band, who will play a couple of songs to the room, then tour tables, offering to play a selection of songs for an $80 peso fee. Again, we did this, and it was lovely, but it's a tourist thing.

So visit Pipi's - the food is great, the atmosphere fun, but be aware it's a little on the pricey side, and it's a tourist trap. Still, at least it isn't Senor Frog's....

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrmorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Air conditioned and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

The staff was very friendly, and the room was a welcome relief from the brutal heat and humidity of Puerto Vallarta in July. The food was good - HUGE portions. Since the prices are a little high, it makes sense to share. The guacamole made table-side is worth it1

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Maya Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poinciana, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Consistent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

My wife and I, along with some other family members, have been coming to Puerto Vallarta for years, and always go to PIPI's. The food and service are excellent - and inexpensive. There fajita's are always good. And there's a festive atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank orchidart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pipi's also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Pipi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing