We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great asian food”
Review of Peking - CLOSED

Peking
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great asian food”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We happened upon this restaurant when we were out one evening looking for something different. I had read some reviews recommending Peking, so we decided to give it a try. We enjoyed good food and service. The portions are good and the food very fresh. The waiter was very attentive. We will return if we are in the area again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BettyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    36
    12
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Maybe it was an off night”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We went to this restaurant looking forward to great meals from all the reviews I have read. Unfortunately, we started off with bad service. Had to ask the server to bring us something to drink rather than him asking us. Then he forgot to bring the drinks and we had to ask again. My partner is Mexican so there is no language problem.

We ordered lemon chicken and Kung Pow chicken. The kung pow was good but overly spicy. The lemon chicken had a chemical taste that made it hard to eat. I ate the chicken that didn't have sauce on it and it was fine. My partner agreed that the taste was chemical. Had to ask twice for more rice because the server kept forgetting to bring it. It was not crowded in the restaurant - only two other tables. We also had to ask twice for the check.

All in all, it wasn't a great place to eat for us. I couldn't wait to get out of the place.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ohrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torreon, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“best chinese food in mexico”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

this place is as good as any chinese place anywhere. they do need to hire more cooks and waiters as the wait was not acceptable. but would return.the pineapple shrimp was famtastic. also enjoyed the green beans with garlic. will check it out 1 more time before we leave vallarta.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 77mockmotorspitcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peking Duck. Best in Mexico”
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Chef/Owner personally caters to your very whim. Superb cooking and good variety of dishes. Ice cold Mexican beer!! Don't miss it

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupwebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great find with authentic food”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We really enjoy going to this authentic Chinese restaurant. The food is excellent. We especially enjoy the Peking duck (runs about $45 and serves at least 2!), the Kum Pao chicken and the fried rice.... and no wonder, there's a real Chinese chef in the kitchen! the service is friendly and quick (although a couple of times they had trouble accepting credit card payments), the decor is not intrusive... it's better when they pay soft Chinese music in the background rather than the local radio... there's no air conditioning which at this time of year would be welcome... and there's no view (even though it's a hlaf a block from the beach)...but all in all a great place to eat at a reasonable price...

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronaldz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peking also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing