We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We've been here a few times, and it's always fabulous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oscar's

Oscar's
Ranked #130 of 981 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $63
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Restaurant Oscar's, located in the heart of Puerto Vallarta, at the western tip of the island of the Rio Cuale, where the river meets the sea; you can enjoy the natural beauty and wildlife of Puerto Vallarta while you delight with our gourmet traditional Mexican dishes, as well as featured dishes from other parts of the world. Restaurant Oscar's strives to provide a memorable and lasting experience... no need to rush your visit, take your time; enjoy the scenery, ambiance, our quality service, and amazing cuisine ... undoubtedly you will have unforgettable experience!
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We've been here a few times, and it's always fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

What a beautiful place, with great stream and ocean views! Oh, and the food is wonderful! We come here every time we are in P.V.. this time we made a special trip in from Bucerias. If you've never had authentic ceviche before, I would really recommend trying it here for the first time. Just about everything is amazing on the menu, the staff is extremely attentive, and honest! If you're lucky, you will even get a show from some of the street performers on the lawn area, or watch the trees carefully for Iguanas!
I know we will be back here, we always come back to Oscars :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephitheagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    59
    20
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Cajon, Ca.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“"Gorgeous view & impeccable service!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Oscar's is right on the Rio Cuale and overlooks the Malecon and Bay of Banderas. Great place to "people watch". The menu is eclectic with lots of variations from the norm. For an appetizer try the melted cheese dip. Unusual but awesome. My favorite lunch is a chicken sandwich with pasilla peppers. My husband likes the fresh guacamole with tortilla soup. We have tried lots of items on the lunch menu and have never been disappointed. Sometimes a very large iguana will stop by during lunch. We have fed her flowers and the wait staff feeds her lettuce from the kitchen. We have never had a time when our iced tea wasn't full. The staff is super attentive. This is one of our favorite places because of the outdoor patio dining.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ECAntiquer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
199 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Muy deliciosa comida!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

we were so graciously received at Oscars. The staff is very attentive even when it was Siesta time. Our meals were great,the chips and salsa fantastic and the view of the river is great too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank rrosepetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oscar's is the real deal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We visited Puerto Vallarta in early March of this year. On one of our excursions we came upon Oscar's. The open air atmosphere drew us in for a closer look. The bar was gorgeous so we sat down for a few drinks. My wife had a margarita of course, top shelf. I had a mango margarita. This restaurant now has a art gallery upstairs so we decided to take a look. The gallery opened up to a beautiful patio over looking the bay. We went back downstairs and was greeted by the manager. We expressed how much we liked the overall setting. we talked a bit more at the bar and he then tells us if we wanted to have dinner there he would give us the entire upstairs patio complete with personal server! Wow. how romantic. we took him up on it and went back to the resort we were staying and changed to a more formal attire. Just like he said, a table was set up under the stars and our own server stood by at the ready. it was awesome! we are going back next month and Oscar's is definitely on our list of places to hit up again. Seriously, I've never had a more romantic meal. Price was extremely reasonable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good food and wonderful view of the sunsets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This restaurant is right on the ocean with a wonderful view of the water, and such a perfect setting for watching the sunset. We usually have an early supper and order off the lunch menu. The food has always been excellent, and the prices are very reasonable. Always enjoy ourselves here, as you can see in the picture, taken by one of the friendly waiters.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oscar's also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Oscar's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing