We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Teppanyaki”
Review of Mikado

Mikado
Ranked #114 of 1,028 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Immerse in a spectacular feast for all your senses at the Mikado Japanese Restaurant in Puerto Vallarta. From the moment you step into the world of Mikado, the exquisite aroma and sizzling sounds will invite you to join the masterful display of our teppan chefs as they juggle knives and ingredients, joking and creating dazzling culinary art pieces for the most demanding of palates.Magnificent Japanese cuisine with touches of Pan-Asian influences, artistic cooking displays, relaxing music, and impeccable service in an unrivaled ambiance wait for you at Mikado Japanese Restaurant.
Salmon, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful Teppanyaki”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was the best meal of our trip. The service was excellent. Food was good with the entertainment from the chef. These type of Japanese restuarants are a favorite of our family and this one definitely lived up to expectations, plus more! We found this by 'accident' staying at the Marriott but definitely seek this out if you're in PV.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tictac24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    75
    28
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Great Japanese for Mexico”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

If you are tired of Mexican food Tory this Japanese restaurant at the Marriott hotel.it has a vey pretty setting, the food is excellent, a little pricey but well worth the money.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ETHKino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Gourmet week chef not on duty, I guess”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Going to a Japanese eatery in Mexico is always a gamble - but this in is in the Marriott Hotel so we expected excellence.

It was ghastly. I ordered Yaki Soba which is supposed to be fat noodles in a clear gorgeous broth with very finely sliced quality raw beef added with finely shredded vegetables. What I got was the noodles, huge chunks of stewed tough beef in a bath of brown gravy that tasted horrible with large chunks of hard uncooked vegetables. I ate very little although I was hungry. My wife's soup was not a broth but a diluted gravy and her inside/out California roll was predominantly rice with a very large wedge of cucumber a smear of avocado and a small piece of rubbery fake crab. We only had tea to drink. Total cost $120!! A total rip off! Marriott you should do better

Interesting that during Gourmet week people raved. Well their general fare is terrible.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodyOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta
1 review
“Excellent choice!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Went over the Festival Gourmet week and the food was absolutely incredible, really enjoy the ambiance and the special menu, will definetely go again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pricey but good”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Nice teppanyaki place at the Marriott. As good as any we have eaten at in the states. Pricey for a family of four but we enjoyed it all the way around.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ColoradomanDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mikado also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Mikado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing