We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They don't listen!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Palomas Nima Bay - CLOSED

Las Palomas Nima Bay
Price range: $5 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Located in the exclusive Marina Vallarta, Las Palomas Restaurant & Bar is the ideal place to enjoy the best of traditional Mexican food in Puerto Vallarta. We satisfy the most demanding palates with dishes that include the best of the culinary culture of Mexico, using ingredients of the highest quality and traditional recipes. Come and discover the great tradition that this Mexican restaurant has to offer. Ubicado en la exclusiva zona de Marina Vallarta, Las Palomas Restaurant & Bar es el sitio ideal para disfrutar lo mejor de la comida tipica mexicana en Puerto Vallarta. Sus mas de 34 anos de vida le han dado la experiencia necesaria para satisfacer a los paladares mas exigentes con platillos que abarcan lo mejor de la cultura gastronomica de Mexico utilizando los ingredientes de la mas alta calidad en su preparacion. Venga y descubra la gran tradicion que este restaurante mexicano tiene para ofrecer.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“They don't listen!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We arrived and nobody really offered us a table, we had to ask if we could sit.

I can't eat any cheese and I specifically asked my chicken (that included a layer of cheese) without any cheese more than 3 times while I ordered. It came with cheese all over the chicken breast and cheese with the beans. After less than a minute I got my plate "without cheese". Basically they just removed the cheese on the top, turned it upside down and put some salsa on the top.

I ate a little and notice there was still cheese. I had to stop eating it. It was very irresponsible and unprofessional from the staff first not to listen and second not to care about my health, if I say I can not eat cheese there is a very good reason for it. And my plate should have been redone not only "fixed". Never going back again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pollo20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palomas015, Gerente at Las Palomas Nima Bay, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We would like to apologize for the error made on your order. Excellent service is what has made Los Palomas a local’s favorite in Puerto Vallarta for 34 years and we take it very seriously. We will be passing your comments to our servers as a training tool and appreciate you taking the time to write your review.

We hope that you will return to Los Palomas to experience our restaurant in the service-oriented environment that we strive to create.

Best regards,
General Manager
Las Palomas, Puerto Vallarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    32
    12
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
408 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Moved, but still excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Recently returned to Las Palomas for the first time since they moved to the Marina and greatly enjoyed the place. The decor and ambiance are super nice and a mix of traditional and modern, the service was friendly and fast, the Margharitas great and strong and the food was delicious as always.
We were glad to see that they found a new location, as so many other businesses did since the Malecon gets too expensive. We will for sure be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SFLeonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palomas015, Manager at Las Palomas Nima Bay, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you SFLeonce for your visit to Las Palomas and for taking the time to to write a review. We appreciate your comments and are happy you enjoyed your dinner and the Margaritas. Hope to see you soon in our restaurant again!

Best regards,
Las Palomas Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
1 review
“Great food and amazing ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Las Palomas has an amazing history. They moved from downtown to the Marina of Puerto Vallarta, with a little bit of a twist, but still amazing. The food is very traditional and the service is great! Very friendly!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lumorenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, Utah
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Like the new location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We found this new location last night. We were regular visitors to the old location when we visit Puerto Vallarta. Different chef, same good food and service. We were disappointed when we discovered last year that they had closed, so we are pleased to see they have reopened at the marina.

We will be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbonzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucerias, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Service and Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have been to the old Las Palomas and never thought they could recreate it in the Marina. They have and I love the new Las Palomas. I highly recommend it. If you want real Mexican food with high class service, go to Las Palomas.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JordanVielehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Palomas Nima Bay also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing