We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the Cuban music and the Mojitos but can't stand horrible food, unattentive waiters, and rude managers”

La Bodeguita del Medio
Ranked #54 of 999 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Bar, Cuban, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: La Bodeguita del Medio was founded in Cuba in the 1940s as a corner store owned by Angel Martinez. The store became a meeting place for local artists who enjoyed getting together for an afternoon 'Mojito'. The place has preserved the ambiance of the romantic Carribean lifestyle that flourished with Havana. Today the Bodeguita del Medio is famous world wide for Salsa music, fine cigars, its original Mojitos and having guests write their thoughts and comments on the walls of the restaurant.
Honduras
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love the Cuban music and the Mojitos but can't stand horrible food, unattentive waiters, and rude managers”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I love this place for its Cuban music and awesome mojitos but the food is horrendous. Their special Cuban dishes are pre-heated mass cooked plates, which is wonderful if they are slow cooked and simmered all day (as they are traditionally), but not if they are cooked quickly for lunch and reheated for dinner. Their pork leg and ropa vieja were both super bland and their pollo de la casa was super overlooked. To change my order it was extremely hard to find our constantly changing waiters that were running around every which way, and the manager of the balcony area on Sunday May 5 2013, had the response of "that is the way the food is!" What a slap in the face to Cuba. Got my food changed in time after my girlfriend had finished and even accepted a "we'll throw some juice on it" beforehand.

A real shame as I love the atmosphere and mojitos. Horrible food, ever changing yo busy waiters, and a rude rude manager.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Riley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    241
    71
    26
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing food ! Awesome salsa band! No sneaky servers”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This place is a must . Please please try it- there's nothing else like it in PUerto Vallarta. Tasty food- good drinks and fun dancing

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Calsun82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“viva la revolucion! We loved this place!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The atmosphere was super fun, the service was great and the food was delicious.

We wandered down the Malecon and found this place by accident, but I'll go back on purpose over and over when we return to Puerto Vallarta.

The walls are alive with the years and years of fun that's been had in that space, the mojitos were 2 for 1, and while on the smaller side, how can you complain, they were amazing.

The fried cheese balls were as delicious as they sound, and while the empanada was well made and with great flavor, it wasn't warmed much, however that sauce was perfect!

Stop in, drink in both the mojitos and the history and enjoy yourself, amigo!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAAntos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Mojitos”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

If you want a place to enjoy good food and drink come to this restaurant. Portions are large and I recommend to share

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EMACE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, BC
Level Contributor
127 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Has Energy!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed so close to La Bodeguita that we typically stopped off here on our way home at night. I can't comment on the food as we typically had drinks and danced. For those Salsa Dancers among us, La Bodeguita is not to be missed - amazing dancers and music. For those non-dancers, like us, well, we just tried to fit in and enjoy the energy that this place puts off.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bodeguita del Medio also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to La Bodeguita del Medio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing