We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot on the beach and excellent food.”
Review of Mahi Beach House - CLOSED

Mahi Beach House
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot on the beach and excellent food.”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Loved the location on the beach. It offered beach seating and sheltered open air seating. There was a great selection on the menu and 6 of us all ate different dishes and all were rated excellent. The crab crusted dorado sandwich was delicious and extremely fresh. The pizza was good but was not served with cheese so the carmelized onions did not stay on and was not a huge hit. The chicken soup was a meal in itself. I went back on another occassion as it looked too good not to enjoy it. The service was very friendly but overly slow. We enjoy very relaxed dining but it can be difficult to get service particularly if you sit on the sand.

Definitely a favourite that I will return to and exhaust the menu.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveldish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    37
    19
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Appies didn't deliver”
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Just wanted a nice cocktail and a couple of appies around lunch. The waiter was very nice and gave us both lunch and dinner menus to order from. Had great mango mojito cocktails, ordered the Thai Crusted Calamari and Shrimp Wonton Purses. The calamari had no relation to thai food, not sure what they were crusted in, were chewy and unmemorable. The shrimp contained a shrimp picadillo which is supposed to be a kind of tampenade, couldn 't taste or find any shrimp inside, in fact they just tasted burnt. Do yourself a favour and step next door to La Palapa for some put of this world appetizers.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chalupa059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No longer old PV”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We used to go to the Eldorado beach all the time. The restaurant on the beach was great. Typical vijeo Vallarta stuff. Now it has been re-built (at the expense of the beach) and lost most of it's ols world charm. Unfortunately on the day we went the food had likewise suffered

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Maycat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Valentines Night Dinner = Awesome experience!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Amazing night on Valentines Day - hotel made reservations for us and our table was waiting. About $75/person with drinks...great ambience right on the beach! Sat on comfy couches before dinner to watch the sun set by candle light (strong Margs in hand). Also strolled the pier and had some fresh caught oysters while waiting for our table.

Dinner was awesome - enjoyed steak an lobster and others in our party had authentic Mexican fare.

Great ocean art exhibit in the restaurant to check out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimmiD247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE at El Dorado on Muertos Beach”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

we went for SUNSET /// the place was rather busy only to find out that as soon as the sun was gone the place emptied out except for us 2 and one other couple /// NOW WE KNOW WHY /// we had to ask for clean cutlery and clean wine glasses (lipstick stains and food particles) /// that is WHY & HOW PEOPLE GET SICK /// our first choice of wine was not available /// we asked to speak to the manager who was apologetic and just shrugged his shoulders /// we had to ask for the salsa and tacos /// we were half way through our meal when they brought some rolls and butter /// the music was so loud like in a disco /// we asked them to turn it down and they did for all of 5 minutes /// when we asked for "la quenta" they had overcharged us for the wine bottle /// again we asked to speak to the manager who was apologetic and just shrugged his shoulders /// i guess some of them JUST DON'T GET IT or THEY DON'T GIVE A DAM except for the bottom dollar /// IT IS NOT WORTH THE AGGRAVATION as there are too many other good restaurants on the WATERFRONT

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank H N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahi Beach House also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing