We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best beach bar/restaurant in PV”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mahi Beach House - CLOSED

Mahi Beach House
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Bar, Seafood, Mediterranean, Pub, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dallas, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best beach bar/restaurant in PV”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

El Dorado has been our favorite beach bar/restaurant for 20+ years. Delicious food and drinks, lovely atmosphere, and the most gracious and attentive staff that caters to your every need. Many thanks to Oscar, Carlos, Luis, Jonathan, and Nacho. Look forward to seeing all of you soon.
Gracias,
Nile and Deanna.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    38
    19
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Meh.”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Like all,the restaurants in this area, El Dorado is in a beautiful spot and offer service right on the beach. The food was mediocre and the service was slow even for PV. Go to La Palapa instead.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank soapandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedral City, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Big Disapointment”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had been at this restaurant a year or so ago, and had a wonderful time, sitting at a table enjoying the ocean/sunset view. We decided to return for dinner and what a mistake. To begin with the Margurita was one of the worst I had in PV. My partner asked for Calamari, which he had been looking forward to, and was told the "machine"was broken. We both ordered an asparagus/fruit salad and when it came to the table there was no fruit on it! The place has added numerous structures on the beach, which block the ocean and sunset beach. There were dogs all over the place, and one, that was especially annoying kept barking at new people who stopped and looked at the menu, scarring a couple away. A couple near us smoked througout our dinner. We could hardly wait to get out of it. It is sad as the location is perfect, but has been spoiled by bad managment. We have also heard that there is load music on the weekends which can be heard in the nearby condos and often keeps people awake until 4am in the morning. Apparently the owner does not want to cooperate with the surrounding neighbors. Not a good reputation for a beach restaurant. It is sad, because as I said, we had been there before and had a wonderful experience. We will not return and will not recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Dog Day Afternoon”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I wish I had something positive to say about this place, but no such luck. While vacationing in Puerto Vallarta we stopped by for lunch whie strolling the beach. What a mistake! There were flies and bees ( more than one normally encounters eating outdoors) and that was the least of the problems. The owner and his dog stopped in and apparently the dog nipped at one of the waiters. Instead of disciplining the dog appropriately, the owner proceeded to choke and punch the dog only relenting when I got up from my table and told him to stop.

Needless to say our lunch was ruined. When I spoke to him (the jefe/owner) about it, he said, "he is my dog and I will treat him as I like." If your dog has an attitude problem hire a trainer! Savagely hitting the dog only makes things worse. (Shades of Michael Vick???)

The food is OK, but the restaurant is located along a beach strip full of choices, all with lovely beachfront vistas. Do yourself a favor and walk on by. There's a cocktail, good food, great view and much better ambience somewhere close by.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chictraavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“food poisoned”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

never been so sick... I had combo fajitas shrimp-chicken-beef and "homemade" hot sauce... waiter was v unfriendly to

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mpjmoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahi Beach House also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing