We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Breakfast In the Romantic Zone!”
Review of Kaiser Maximilian

Kaiser Maximilian
Ranked #47 of 1,302 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Basilio Badillo and Manuel M. Dieguez
Description: If you enjoy European sidewalk cafés and fine continental cuisine, this award-winning eatery evoking Old Vienna at its heyday is sure to charm you. A longtime Vallarta favorite, Austrian owner Andreas Rupprechter named the place in honor of fellow countryman, Mexico’s former emperor. And Maximilian himself would have loved dining here, perhaps, choosing hearty comfort food like Wienerschnitzel with potatoes and Austrian salad. Or delving into gourmet renditions of contemporary European fare, like Duo of duck breast and duck confit with Spätzle, mushrooms and sugar snap peas. And while the menu is constantly being tweaked, it’s nice knowing that some things don’t change, and for a dozen of years we’ve been able to count on enjoying our favorite plates here. So whether dining al fresco with unparalleled people watching, or in an intimate, air-conditioned, Old World milieu, when a fabulous meal or just a perfect pastry and a special coffee is what you crave, this is the place to be.
Reviewed June 4, 2019 via mobile

Kaiser Maximilian was by far our best breakfast in Puerto Vallarta!

Jesus was our waiter the 3 days we made it in and his service was exceptional.

Menus are available in English and Spanish and Jesus spoke both as well.

The food was delicious with a clean/ non-greasy feel!

I enjoyed their fruit plate and cottage cheese, ham and cheese omelet, and huevos con chorizo (eggs with sausage). My husband loved their ham and cheese croissant! He added eggs to his... Ordered the same thing every time

Coffee was velvety, dark, and delicious! Orange juice in mimosas tasted fresh squeezed!

They accept card and cash for payment. Restaurant is closed on Sundays.

Will return in a heartbeat when we’re back in town!

Buen Provecho!

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank jennyphan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (862)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 862 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2019 via mobile

The food choices were varied, prepared and presented as you would expect. Onion soup with rich broth,succulent bone-in pork chop - medium rare as requested with nut chutney and sautéed endive; partner had New York with gratin potatoes and sautéed mixed vegetables. This was also served with a bread basket containing 4 different fresh choices.
Service was professional .Without wine this meal was in total and approximately elevated tip $62 US.

Would hope to stop here at least twice during each yearly visit.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank GeorgeExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2019

Old world surroundings and service in this Austrian inspired restaurant. Chef has been here for over 20 years serving European classics and updated classics. Duck confit on top of a salad, tender braised leg of veal with a mushroom cream sauce, grilled snapper with a hibiscus sauce. Ended the meal with Pecan tort with ice cream and a molten lava cake. Everything was cook to perfection and served hot.
If you don't come for a big dinner, come by for dessert and be served by Alfredo. I've never experienced a more attentive server who offered wine tastings before ordering a bottle of wine, and made excellent suggestions and descriptions of the menu.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eat-TravelNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2019 via mobile

Party of 5 for dinner. We were all pleased with our food choices. Service was attentive and friendly. We sat outside (our choice) but it was a little cramped for 5. Agree that it’s a bit too busy outside with street traffic, vendors, etc. I would sit inside if I ever go back. I’d recommend the restaurant to others.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank riskyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2019

Had a reservation to sit inside, but there was a loud table so we opted to sit out in the sidewalk area. Not a pleasant experience. Vendors constantly stop by trying to sell you stuff and interrupt your conversation. Musicians plant themselves in front of your table and start playing loudly, you get the idea...
The food: we started we a soup and a ravioli as appetizers, both arrived with a coagulated film on the surface due to sitting out too long before been served. To their credit, the flavor was good... but the schnitzel entree which we both ordered was the saddest presentation of food I’ve seen in a long time for this quality of restaurant. Really not good.
Service: not very attentive or professional. We ordered a bottle of French Rosé and not once after the initial pour did the server return.
We will not go back.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank louisethethird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaiser Maximilian also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Kaiser Maximilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing