We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in everyway.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaiser Maximilian

Kaiser Maximilian
Reserve with OpenTable
Kaiser Maximilian is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: German, Austrian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Basilio Badillo and Manuel M. Dieguez
Description: If you enjoy European sidewalk cafés and fine continental cuisine, this award-winning eatery evoking Old Vienna at its heyday is sure to charm you. A longtime Vallarta favorite, Austrian owner Andreas Rupprechter named the place in honor of fellow countryman, Mexico’s former emperor. And Maximilian himself would have loved dining here, perhaps, choosing hearty comfort food like Wienerschnitzel with potatoes and Austrian salad. Or delving into gourmet renditions of contemporary European fare, like Duo of duck breast and duck confit with Spätzle, mushrooms and sugar snap peas. And while the menu is constantly being tweaked, it’s nice knowing that some things don’t change, and for a dozen of years we’ve been able to count on enjoying our favorite plates here. So whether dining al fresco with unparalleled people watching, or in an intimate, air-conditioned, Old World milieu, when a fabulous meal or just a perfect pastry and a special coffee is what you crave, this is the place to be.
West Hollywood & UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent in everyway.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

This is our 4th time in Puerto Vallarta and our 4th visit to Kaiser Maximillian and has always the food, service is excellent.
Unhurried and relaxed service and mouthwatering food make a perfect evening at the end of a hot day. Thank you to the chefs and staff.

Helpful?
Thank tourcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    98
    30
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin
Level Contributor
87 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“German concept but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Again with the waiters who are not friendly. The food is good but skimpy and the prices are high and you can sit at a table on the sidewalk and breathe fumes...try the Derby burger next door, that's a real deal.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank whyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAPLES
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Again...and Again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

After not dining here for a couple of years we returned to this appealing Austrian restaurant during the Restaurant Week promotion that happens each May in Puerto Vallarta. We had first discovered Kaiser Maximillian during Restaurant Week many years ago and had returned each trip to PV as a “must do.” Somehow we stopped. Perhaps because we found so many other places we liked also.

At any rate, we returned to rekindle the romance and it is great to know that the fire has not gone out. The food, the service, the desserts (OMG—the desserts) are just as wonderful as we had remembered. So good, in fact, that we returned again the night before we left at my wife's special request.

Let’s start with the food. Let me preface my remarks by saying that many "German" restaurants use a spice (I don’t know what it is) in almost all of their dishes that gives them a distinct sameness and flavor that I find unappealing. This is NOT one of those. They also understand that not every meal needs to be accompanied by red cabbage, thank you.

In the Restaurant Week promotion, participating restaurants choose generally three appetizers, three entrees and three desserts as choices in a prix-fixe menu. Not so at Kaiser Maximillain-- they open their menu and allow you to choose virtually anything you would like (within reason) from the appetizers and entrées—including the daily specials. As for the desserts (did I mention they’re fabulous?), you can choose from the full dessert menu. Not an easy task, believe me!

What we actually chose doesn’t matter in this case. But I do have to plug the Spinach Strussel appetizer which is a special treat and very hard to pass up on any visit. And my wife swears by the red beet salad. All of their appetizers and entrees have proven to be very satisfying and appealing to us. We even have a special fondness for the "regular old" Wiener Schnitzel that is done perfectly to our taste.

What makes dining here a special experience, however, is the service. Everything is first rate, from the greeting at entrance, to seating, and constant attentiveness to every detail—yet without the fawning obtrusiveness that can get tiresome. There is never a time you are left hanging or waiting for a thing. In addition to your main waiter, it seems every employee has a stake in each guests’ dining experience. Service is provided in a friendly, always professional manner that leaves you with a feeling that—no matter how many or how few diners are there—you are truly important to them. They never let you forget that.

And, oh yes, did I mention the desserts? Pure heaven. In fact, we never fail to wonder why we don’t simply stop by for dessert and individually brewed coffee as a stand-alone from time to time. No matter what your taste in desserts, there will be something to tempt you even when you feel fully satisfied from your wonderful meal. Beautifully presented, their desserts put this restaurant over the top as far as we are concerned.

It remains, in my opinion, one of the finest dining choices in Puerto Vallarta.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pwprism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“kaiser Maximilian Restaurant Week 2012”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

The Annual May Restaurant Festival started on May 15 and Kaiser Maximilian was the choice to usher us into the 17 night-long sojourn. Owner Andreas Rupprechter greeted us warmly and took us to our waiting table.

This is probably the only participant which offers many options on the special festival menu, unlike most other spots which present a choice from three dishes per course. This leads to greater pleasurable sharing of creations with various flavors and textures.

For starters, two of this destination’s signature dishes were demanded to be experienced. Red Cabbage Cream Soup with potato dumpling crusted with roast duck was deep red and puréed with some leaves intact. Golden flaky Spinach Strudel lay atop lightly dressed mixed greens and tomatoes. Both excellent, as on prior visits. Firm, yet tender, Housemade Raviolis with fennel filling were enveloped with wild mushroom and tarragon sauce, the quality of pasta which seems to melt in the mouth.



Entrées decided upon included a Fresh Pink Trout Fillet atop celery purée with white wine sauce, spinach and tomato-almond ragout. The meat was pleasantly mith roast duck was deep red and puréed with some leaves intact. Golden flaky Spinach Strudel lay atop lightly dressed mixed greens and tomatoes. Both excellent, as on prior visits. Firm, yet tender, Housemade Raviolis with fennel filling were enveloped with wild mushroom and tarragon sauce, the quality of pasta which seems to melt in the mouth. Moist, pink and flaky. A tasty accessory was a thin slice of trout skin crisply fried, sporting the striking rainbow coloring. Beef Tenderloin with creamy Gorgonzola, mushrooms and potato au gratin was a solar system from Mom’s meat and potatoes. Tender filet was enhanced by the cheesy mushroom topping, accompanied by a beautiful potato layering. Roast Leg of Veal with glazed vegetables and mushroom cream sauce represented a fine Austrian-style dish. Delicate, rich and creamy.

Choosing from eleven desserts, some Austrian delights, was quite a dilemma. A combination of Austrian Apple Layered Pastry and dense, rich Sacher Chocolate Torte over raspberry sauce and whipped cream displayed the fine accomplishments of the kitchen pastry staff. Chocolate Pot de Crème with a bottom layer of cream of chocolate, then a rich caramel mousse and topped with shaved chocolate and sea salt. Crème Brulée with caramelized vanilla cream crust sprinkled with mixed fruit arrived baked exactly as the classic custard was designed. Warm chocolate lava cake with grapefruit, chocolate drizzle and min chocolate ice cream.

The service was top notch, attentive but not obtrusive. Although some neighboring restaurants were nearly empty, this ‘hot’ upscale café was bustling with happy diners inside and out. It is a difficult task finding a fine dining restaurant in a classy yet relaxed setting. Kaiser Maximilian is such a spot and all guests are fondly rewarded.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“New Years Feast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

We had a prix fixe New Year's feast of five courses that was timed perfectly to conclude with toasting in the New Year with champagne and dessert!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank jlagozzino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaiser Maximilian also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Kaiser Maximilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing